Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Machining

 
 
SFT Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2008, 05:29 PM
rmack898's Avatar
rmack898 rmack898 is offline
That HURT!
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Honu Grove (NE Florida)
Posts: 4,037
Default Band saw re-hab

Before putting my new to me band saw in service, I decided to go through it and clean it up a bit. It was fully functional before I tore into it, but I'm glad I took it apart because it does need a little updating.

I was just going to sand down the ugly green and give some fresh rattle can but everythingcame off too easy so it all went to bare metal.

I don't know how old this saw is but I haven't seen wire like this in a long time. I'm thinking it must be from the '50s or early '60s. There is a schematic on the box cover and it was not wired as built, someone from the Bumfuk Polytechnical Institute of engineering was in there. I will replace all the wiring and wire it per the schematic.

I do have a question that I hope someone can answer. The machine is all 110v and it has a step up x-former to 220v for the blade welder, everything else is 110v. Why would they use a 2-pole switch for the motor? The cordset comes into the box and is grounded there, the drive motor and the grinder motor have just a hot and neutral going to them. Is that the way they did it back then? It would take less wire if I used a single pole switch. What do you think?

I don't know if you can see it in the last pic but it has a belt driven air pump that gets plumbed to a nozzle to blow the chips away from the cut line. I had never seen that efore and thought it was pretty cool. Somewhere along the line someone changed the sheeve on the drive motor and eliminated the air pump belt but I rolled the pump over and it works so I will have to come up with a new sheeve to drive it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1169.JPG
Views:	599
Size:	83.3 KB
ID:	37818   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1170.JPG
Views:	499
Size:	88.0 KB
ID:	37819   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1171.JPG
Views:	444
Size:	86.0 KB
ID:	37820   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1172.JPG
Views:	471
Size:	74.2 KB
ID:	37821   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1173.JPG
Views:	485
Size:	89.9 KB
ID:	37822  

__________________
Mac
___________________________________________
One extremely happy former convict of the penal colony that lies between NY, PA, and DE. Now living the good life much further south. where they don't know what fucking Carhartts are.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2008, 05:55 PM
TommyA's Avatar
TommyA TommyA is offline
Director of Product Reviews
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,516
Default

Aw hell now you've gone and done it. Didn't you see the greasy spot that was left when LuDan47 went to repair the rear final drive on a crawler? That was all that was left. Well, might as well make the best of it and start the rebuild to like new condition. Just keep the camera handy.
__________________
What Would Jimmy Buffett say?

Mother, mother ocean, I have heard you call,
Wanted to sail upon your waters
since I was three feet tall.
You've seen it all, you've seen it all.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2008, 07:32 PM
getatorch's Avatar
getatorch getatorch is offline
Tuned-Up Big Builder
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,669
Default

Yea, pics. must follow!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2008, 07:53 PM
precisionworks's Avatar
precisionworks precisionworks is offline
American Tools Keep Americans Working
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Benton, IL
Posts: 3,177
Default

Quote:
Why would they use a 2-pole switch for the motor?
My best guess is that one side of the switch is wired to the motor, the other side is wired for the grinder -- that way, one switch controls both circuits, while keeping both electrically isolated from each other.

Quote:
it has a belt driven air pump that gets plumbed to a nozzle
Exactly the method used on the old (1950's) Delta/Milwaukee deep throat scroll saw.

Your saw appears to be almost the exact model Do All we had at the machine shop. Tough as shoe leather, nearly impossible to wear out in one lifetime. Ours was 3-phase, variable speed.
__________________
Barry Milton - Please email or PayPal through PrecisionWorks.co
PM's are disabled
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2008, 08:15 PM
rmack898's Avatar
rmack898 rmack898 is offline
That HURT!
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Honu Grove (NE Florida)
Posts: 4,037
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by precisionworks View Post
My best guess is that one side of the switch is wired to the motor, the other side is wired for the grinder -- that way, one switch controls both circuits, while keeping both electrically isolated from each other.
Nope, the grinder is powered from the junction box on it's own circuit and switch. A hot and neutral go straight from the juntion box to the switch and from the switch to the motor. I've just never seen it done like this before so I figured there must be a reason.
__________________
Mac
___________________________________________
One extremely happy former convict of the penal colony that lies between NY, PA, and DE. Now living the good life much further south. where they don't know what fucking Carhartts are.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2008, 09:25 PM
Charlie C's Avatar
Charlie C Charlie C is offline
More STEAM!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 6,035
Default

There is a reason for wiring it like that but for all the good it is doing I can't think of the reason. As I remember it had something to do with feed back in the event that a short developed but I am not sure.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-18-2008, 09:26 PM
Uncle Buck Uncle Buck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Topeka Kansas
Posts: 98
Default

Tell ya what, I will give you $100 for it the way it stands and relieve you of the headache of figuring out that wiring problem. Fair nuff? :evil:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-18-2008, 09:30 PM
randydupree's Avatar
randydupree randydupree is offline
Why, Hell Yes!
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bainbridge Ga
Posts: 6,716
Default

hey UB,just jump right in!
hahaaa!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-18-2008, 09:35 PM
Uncle Buck Uncle Buck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Topeka Kansas
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by randydupree View Post
hey UB,just jump right in!
hahaaa!!
Ah what can I say eh...............................a legend in my own mind and all that rot! (ya gotta have a great sense of humor)

BTW I would give my eye teeth to have that sucker in my shop!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-18-2008, 10:04 PM
pawtech0's Avatar
pawtech0 pawtech0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 213
Default

looks like maybe it was set up to be 220 if you wanted it to be maybe reason for that switch.
__________________
_____________________________________ Phil

Last edited by pawtech0; 11-18-2008 at 11:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.