Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Mechanical & Electrical

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2008, 05:39 PM
TommyA's Avatar
TommyA TommyA is offline
Director of Product Reviews
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,516
Default Not a good Week For Equipment

It was not a good week here in the sunny south in my house and today I found out my compressor for the last 14 Years decided it didn't need to provide. I have used it often and never tried to over work it if I didn't need to but non the less it isn't working currently. I have very little knowledge about specific electric motors and this one has me set back to research first before doing any type of troubleshooting.

I have done all checks (yes I pushed the reset button) to ensure there is power to the motor to the point of the connections shown at aircomp2.

Help if you can!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AirComp3.JPG
Views:	301
Size:	55.5 KB
ID:	37179   Click image for larger version

Name:	AirComp2.JPG
Views:	307
Size:	67.7 KB
ID:	37180  
__________________
What Would Jimmy Buffett say?

Mother, mother ocean, I have heard you call,
Wanted to sail upon your waters
since I was three feet tall.
You've seen it all, you've seen it all.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2008, 05:44 PM
Cavalry's Avatar
Cavalry Cavalry is offline
Below Wholesale
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Evil Empire State
Posts: 9,036
Default

Do you have the proper voltage to the pressure switch? Is the motor getting power?. Are all connections and wires in good shape? If yes to above its likely that the motor is cooked.

Does it smell burnt? Does it hum when you power it up?

Take the belt off and try spinning the motor in the correct direction, then apply power while spinning. See if that does anything
__________________
Director of Cryptography-Upstate NY Division

Last edited by Cavalry; 10-30-2008 at 05:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2008, 06:01 PM
OLD MAN's Avatar
OLD MAN OLD MAN is offline

2-3-1940 to 3-8-2011
Nobody was faster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 12,577
Default

IF it is a fried motor, check the unloader before installing a new one.
__________________
You do the best you can with what you've got.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2008, 06:42 PM
Charlie C's Avatar
Charlie C Charlie C is offline
More STEAM!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 6,036
Default

If I am understanding you, you have power to the wires in the second picture.
If so I would check the capacitors and see if they are good. Also check the centrifugal sw the contacts could be burned off but I am not sure if this motor will have one though.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2008, 07:22 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,423
Default

What's the HP ?
What voltage is it ?

If it's 240 volts try resetting both circuit breakers.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2008, 08:36 PM
RancherBill's Avatar
RancherBill RancherBill is offline
there has to be an answer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DeWinton, Alberta
Posts: 5,434
Default

It might be the pressure switch. It "thinks" it is at full pressure and doesn't want to turn. :evil::evil:
__________________
Warning Disclaimer What am I doing?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-01-2008, 01:11 PM
TommyA's Avatar
TommyA TommyA is offline
Director of Product Reviews
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,516
Default

Hey I just went over to grainger to check out what they have. After looking at the first of eleven pages I have to say I'm at a loss as to which is what I need for replacement.

There is label on the old Switch shown in the picture. Any Idea what I need? Here is the first page at Grainger
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Compressor Motor 011.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	71.2 KB
ID:	37232  
__________________
What Would Jimmy Buffett say?

Mother, mother ocean, I have heard you call,
Wanted to sail upon your waters
since I was three feet tall.
You've seen it all, you've seen it all.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2008, 02:43 PM
grumpy's Avatar
grumpy grumpy is offline
King of Procrastinators
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Carroll County, MD
Posts: 2,274
Default

Tommy, go the Tractor Supply they have a Campbell Hausfeld for about $41.00 and cuts in a 95 psi and out at 125 psi. Just like your photo. And is for 240v with three outlet ports along with plugs for those you don't need. No need to pay the high price of Grainger.

Here's the link: http://www.tractorsupply.com/webapp/...g=true&cFlag=1
__________________
The definition of courage. "It's when you know you're licked before you begin, but you begin anyway and you see it through to the end no matter what." From "To Kill a Mockingbird"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2008, 02:48 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyA View Post
Hey I just went over to grainger to check out what they have. After looking at the first of eleven pages I have to say I'm at a loss as to which is what I need for replacement.
What size pipe does it screw onto ? male or female ?
Does it have an unloader ?
Is it also used as a ON OFF switch for the compressor ?

Do you want an adjustment for differential pressure.
95 on - 125 off is 30 psi differential.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-01-2008, 02:50 PM
cutter's Avatar
cutter cutter is offline

12-29-1943 to 1-17-2020
Curmudgeon emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lubbock,Texas
Posts: 33,110
Default

Well Tommy, your old switch shows to have the unloader valve & an on/off lever so it seems like you'd probably want the same configuration. And your motor claims to be 6 hp which it ain't but let's say it's a 5hp & the label on the tank indicates 15 amps @ 240volts. Then you need to look at the pipe fitting just because it would be a little less trouble to use what you already have.

So you need a 15 amp minimum 240volt (2 pole) with unloader and switch lever to cut in at 90psi/off 120psi and with the correct male or female threads.

The trick seems to be getting all the whistles & bells on one unit, like I don't see the same pressure/amp ratings with the lever on the Grainger page. May be there but I didn't see it.

Do you use that lever for your on/off switch? I think that's more common on smaller hp/amp switches.

It might be easier to just find a Furnas dealer in your area & take them your old switch.

Or maybe Grumpy's suggestion would be better. Just be danged sure you get one that has the unloader or you got more rigging to do later.
__________________
cutter
Housekeeping Staff: the Gatekeeper
Director of Policy, Syntax and Grammar (by appointment)

"Dr. Chandran, will I dream?"

Just Keep Walking

"I am not a body, I am free.
For I am still as God created me."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.