Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-07-2020, 10:52 AM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,117
Default

We have this thread about the 6011 Lincoln rods.
https://www.shopfloortalk.com/forums...ad.php?t=33337

I don't do a lot of welding but have noticed 6011 Lincolin/brown don't run very well on the the HF inverter welder below 110 amps.

I don't have any Airco EasyArc E6011C welding rod or do enough welding to know how if they do better.
looks like they maybe harder to find.


Seems most 120v volt welders top out around 90 amps then you have to move up to 240 volts, or trip the 20 amp breaker.

I'm not sure if it is ok to install a circuit for 120 volts above 20 amps legally in a home.
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-07-2020, 11:00 AM
midmosandblasting's Avatar
midmosandblasting midmosandblasting is offline
Blast this!
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Calhoun ,Mo
Posts: 8,400
Default

Practice,Practice . As a production monkey working maint. during a tornado cleanup .The 1st overhead I did was ugly . The maint. supervisor kept swinging a 16 pound sledge trying to break it. He gave up and put a pretty weld over the top . I still have trouble staying under overhead welding .
Each machine is different ,extension size ,length ,Good ground all play a part .
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-07-2020, 05:56 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 20,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Folkpunk View Post
I'll try it without the 50' extension chord. My only concern (which I should have mentioned earlier) is that when I do find the arc working smoothly I trip the breaker in my garage about 15-20 seconds into the weld. edit: ...then when I turn the amperage back down, the rod sticks again and or sputters out.
50' extension cord is always a bad idea. I have a 25' foot and it is 1-2 gauge
sizes bigger than needed due to current loss.

You are starving your welder for power.

Also if you are repeated tripping your breaker you need to upgrade your wiring.

My welders pull between 50-70 amps at max. current draw from the wall. My supply circuits are 100 amp. I have no issues, and they are 230 volt circuits.

OCV is open circuit voltage. You can turn you machine on and measure the voltage between the ground clamp and the electrode holder with a voltage meter, generally between 50-100 V.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-07-2020, 06:45 PM
Folkpunk Folkpunk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: S. Cal.
Posts: 39
Default

Thanks everyone. You have packed this thread with a ton of helpful advice. So far I removed the 50' extension and plugged straight from the welder into the socket. Also, switched over to 6013 and getting much better striking results. Same with the 7018, both 3/32 at 80amps. Still popping the breaker, but not as often. I will be bringing out an electrician to install a 40amp breaker along with a nema style outlet.

As for the AC issue with 6011. It was mentioned in this thread that, if using AC, you can't be using DCEP. Does that mean that when in AC mode, it overrides the electrode and ground ports? In other words, it doesn't matter which port either is plugged in to???
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-07-2020, 06:50 PM
Folkpunk Folkpunk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: S. Cal.
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade Tree Welder View Post
OCV is open circuit voltage. You can turn you machine on and measure the voltage between the ground clamp and the electrode holder with a voltage meter, generally between 50-100 V.
Thanks. Could I use the welding table to get the reading?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-07-2020, 06:59 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 20,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Folkpunk View Post
As for the AC issue with 6011. It was mentioned in this thread that, if using AC, you can't be using DCEP. Does that mean that when in AC mode, it overrides the electrode and ground ports? In other words, it doesn't matter which port either is plugged in to???
When in AC yes, the plugins no longer matter as the current is alternating.

But people generally leave the ground clamp in (-) and the electrode in (+).

Also if you have DC available use it not AC, there are times to use AC.
But best to avoid it especially when learning.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-07-2020, 07:02 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 20,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Folkpunk View Post
Thanks. Could I use the welding table to get the reading?
If your ground clamp is on the table then yes. You can measure between the
electrode holder and the table. No need to have an electrode in the holder.
You want to measure the voltage between the two with the welder on set
around where you are normally welding and no welding current flowing, which
is the meaning of an open circuit. You could also just measure at the output
where your leads attach to the machine.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-07-2020, 08:29 PM
astronut's Avatar
astronut astronut is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,248
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade Tree Welder View Post
When in AC yes, the plugins no longer matter as the current is alternating.

But people generally leave the ground clamp in (-) and the electrode in (+).

Also if you have DC available use it not AC, there are times to use AC.
But best to avoid it especially when learning.
I learned to weld with an AC only machine. Once I learned to weld on AC, welding with a DC machine later was a piece of cake! Most people that learn to weld on a DC machine can not to adjust to welding on an AC machine later. Just saying!
__________________
I love the smell of napalm in the morning. It smells like, victory!
Rommel, you magnificent bastard, I read your book!

Victor Torch Set With Meco Regs
Lincoln Weld Pak 100
Giant Tech Arc 200
Miller Roughneck2E
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-07-2020, 10:41 PM
Folkpunk Folkpunk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: S. Cal.
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midmosandblasting View Post
Practice,Practice.
My first two days with the machine had me questioning my decision to buy it. After reading through this thread and trying the suggestions posted, I'm feeling better now. I felt I made a lot of progress today. There's something extremely satisfying about striking the arc and laying down a bead uninterrupted. They're pretty ugly but getting somewhere.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-07-2020, 10:51 PM
Folkpunk Folkpunk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: S. Cal.
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade Tree Welder View Post
If your ground clamp is on the table then yes. You can measure between the
electrode holder and the table. No need to have an electrode in the holder.
You want to measure the voltage between the two with the welder on set
around where you are normally welding and no welding current flowing, which
is the meaning of an open circuit. You could also just measure at the output
where your leads attach to the machine.
Thank you for clarifying I will try this. As for the AC issue, I was trying a recommendation for the 6011 rod. There's a video that discusses 'Arc blow" and I was trying to see if I could notice a difference between the AC and DC, but I could never get a clean start with that rod.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.