Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2008, 12:26 PM
OTTO1976
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Migtronic (Danish) Welder Power Supply Questions. (Military Member Needs Help!!!!)

Sorry for playing the military card but I am in dire straights...OK, I just PCSed to England from sunny Tucson, Az...I am now stationed at RAF Lakenheath. I had to leave all my welding equipment in storage. Well, I am realizing I should have atleast brought my little hobart but that is irrealivant now. I am looking at this Migatronic BDH 320. Now everthing that I can find online says its 3 phase. But the electrical name plate says other wise. I even emailed the service department here in UK and they said that UK never had a single phase version. And I have yet to find anything online that says there ever was. But I will let the picture do the talking. Could some version that is single phase slipped out? I cant figure it out. Take a look at the pic. I am completely confused. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I need to weld something quick......Its to damn cold here!!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CIMG1372.jpg
Views:	413
Size:	98.4 KB
ID:	38651  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2008, 12:32 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 20,510
Default

Hopefully some of our UK members can help you out, I am just as confused as you are, the label clearly states single phase...

Good luck!
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2008, 12:34 PM
MAC702's Avatar
MAC702 MAC702 is offline
set phasers to .50 caliber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Clark County, NV
Posts: 4,314
Default

Looks to me like it says single phase, but you can pull off the sheet metal and see how many transformers are inside. Also, does it already have a plug on the end of the cord?
__________________
"It's not important how many people I've killed. What's important is how I get along with the people who are still alive." - Jimmy the Tulip
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2008, 12:54 PM
Photomask's Avatar
Photomask Photomask is offline
Big Stone
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Deepinahearta Texas
Posts: 3,371
Default

It clearly reads single phase. To be certain, look at the input wires, there should be two for power and one safety ground. The ground wire should be yellow with a green stripe and will go to a case ground. If there are three power wires, then it is indeed three phase.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2008, 12:57 PM
USMCPOP's Avatar
USMCPOP USMCPOP is offline
Gold Star Dad
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richmond, VA area
Posts: 12,153
Default

Manual & schematic here perhaps:

http://service.migatronic.dk/default.aspx?m=2&i=914

They all say 3 x (voltage) in the specs.
__________________
USMCPOP

Last edited by USMCPOP; 12-09-2008 at 01:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2008, 01:29 PM
OTTO1976
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Has three wire plug.....Have not seen inside....the migatronic website is where i found the manuals for the 3 phase versions.....Its so weird...The exact welder is in the manuals but only this one is single phase. And nobody seems to know where this single phase version came from.....For all you Google saavy guys. Heres your true test. I have scoured, no luck. Here are ALL the pics....looks like a good machine...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rsz_1CIMG1369.jpg
Views:	313
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	38652   Click image for larger version

Name:	rsz_1CIMG1371.jpg
Views:	261
Size:	98.0 KB
ID:	38653   Click image for larger version

Name:	CIMG1372.jpg
Views:	270
Size:	98.4 KB
ID:	38654   Click image for larger version

Name:	rsz_5CIMG1370.jpg
Views:	262
Size:	98.6 KB
ID:	38655  
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2008, 03:27 PM
moe1942's Avatar
moe1942 moe1942 is offline
Voice of Experience
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Alexandria, Louisiana
Posts: 11,074
Default

Looks like 1~ to me..Like the others have said look at the input wiring..
__________________
Don't pick a fight with an old man. If he is too old to fight, he'll just kill you... John Steinbeck

"If we ever forget that we're one nation under God, then we will
be a nation gone under". ~Ronald Reagan

We should have picked our own cotton...

I love my women hot and my beer ice cold..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-2008, 04:10 PM
Davidk4x4 Davidk4x4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Owasso, OK
Posts: 150
Default

Just taking a stab at it since everything outside of label says 3-phase.

Could it be that it is a non balanced load and the label is showing three phases separately

Good Luck
__________________
David
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-09-2008, 04:35 PM
MAC702's Avatar
MAC702 MAC702 is offline
set phasers to .50 caliber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Clark County, NV
Posts: 4,314
Default

Looked like each section of the label was giving the data for different processes: Stick, TIG, and Spot.
__________________
"It's not important how many people I've killed. What's important is how I get along with the people who are still alive." - Jimmy the Tulip
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-09-2008, 05:18 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,112
Default

I'm not sure what they are saying on the label.

At one time a pictured symbol with three prongs represented three phase.
and a two prong represented single phase.

I see a three prong symbol on the label.

I'm wondering if that's three phase INPUT and single phase OUTPUT.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.