Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2006, 10:41 PM
quadlinear's Avatar
quadlinear quadlinear is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southwest, OH
Posts: 652
Default running other welders on a Bobcat 225?



I am thinking of powering both a millermatic 251 and Cutmaster 51 Plasma from my Bobcat 225 model. I know it will support a 50A output on 220 mode. Has anyone else done this yet?, and what results have you had? Since I lost my shop and my nice hi amp 220 source, I'm limited to the Bobcat output for now.

Alan
__________________
Quadlinear
corner of South West, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2006, 06:58 AM
moe1942's Avatar
moe1942 moe1942 is offline
Voice of Experience
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Alexandria, Louisiana
Posts: 11,235
Default

Can't help you since I haven't used mine for powering a feeder yet. I will soon though. I just got three S-32 feeders.

Don has used his for a power source so he should chime in momentarily..
__________________
Don't pick a fight with an old man. If he is too old to fight, he'll just kill you... John Steinbeck

"If we ever forget that we're one nation under God, then we will
be a nation gone under". ~Ronald Reagan

We should have picked our own cotton...

I love my women hot and my beer ice cold..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2006, 07:09 AM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 22,399
Default

You will be fine as long as you do not out run your 50A breaker. I run my Spectrum and Dynasty off my TB 302 at times and once ran the MM 350P off the TB302 just to see how it welded no difference from line power.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2006, 07:48 AM
karl-nc karl-nc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 495
Default

i have run both a plasma cutter and a mm210 off of mine with no problem's
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2006, 08:26 AM
quadlinear's Avatar
quadlinear quadlinear is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southwest, OH
Posts: 652
Default

Outstanding folks. I was hoping that'd be the case. I just remember the salesperson at the local welding supply telling me that TIG was not too well supported by this model due to not optimized voltage control. Made me wonder if the same held true for MIG as well.

I did order the adapter cable to go 4 prong to three this weekend.

So another question, I know they make a spoolgun adapter/controler for the Bobcat 225 which costs about 300 dollars. I guess the spoolgun would add another 5-700 dollars. Is this a viable alternative for steel? I'm not planning aluminum at this point. Just wondering about other MIG alternatives at this point.

Al
__________________
Quadlinear
corner of South West, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2006, 08:41 AM
Cedarcreek Cedarcreek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Eastern Montana
Posts: 219
Default Will work just fine

I've run my Spectrum 625 plasma cutter and 1 1/2hp air compressor off my TB302 at the same time.
__________________
If you don't have time to do it right,
when will you have time to do it over?

Cowboy Logic: "Experience is what you have when everything else is gone."

“The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings. The inherent virtue of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries.” ~ Winston Churchill ~
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-14-2006, 12:02 PM
Ggg's Avatar
Ggg Ggg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NW.IL.
Posts: 660
Default

quadlinear- I have looked into a MIG setup for my BC225 and I believe you will also need an external contactor (about $600) so now we are looking at about $1600 just to do MIG. I figure I would be better off just buying a MM250 and run it off the generator when needed. This set up will also allow me to run the MIG off of regular 220v shop current should the opportunity arise.
I am now also looking to do TIG with my BC225 but I have just started to look into this.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-14-2006, 01:36 PM
quadlinear's Avatar
quadlinear quadlinear is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southwest, OH
Posts: 652
Default

I saw the controller at http://www.brwelder.com/indextemplat...ubCategory=132

which will handle and control a spool gun, Guess when the gun gets ordered as well for additional 4-700 dollars, it may be too pricey and match a seperate mig like a MM210

I was told that a Bobcat 225 didn't have adequate volatge control to support satisfactory tig welding.

No experience on that I was using a Synchro 180SD till I lost it in the shop fire.

Alan
__________________
Quadlinear
corner of South West, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-14-2006, 06:27 PM
DDA52's Avatar
DDA52 DDA52 is offline
Blood, Sweat & Concrete
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bulverde, Tx.
Posts: 6,716
Send a message via MSN to DDA52
Default

Alan, the SGA 100C has the internal contactor so it would be all you would need....and yes, the SGA and spoolgun are a viable alternative for the Bubus Catus. I am running two feeder on mine. They work fine, just no short circuit. I would be curious to see if the SGA/Spooler would short circuit. FWIW, my welder mech really likes the TIG off of a Bobus. To each his own I suppose.

As to generator power, you are better off with the Bobus as long as it is within the limits of the machine. There was a thread recently on Ask Andy where they admitted that the Bobus had cleaner power than the TB. Something about the rotors on the new ones. Bobcats are excellent generators that make good welders while the TB is an excellent welder that makes a good generator.....according to Miller. I say, goferit. You'll be fine.
__________________
Don



Grand High Poobah...(by appointment.)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-14-2006, 08:09 PM
miles miles is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: red deer alberta canada
Posts: 26
Default

quadlinear, I too own a mm 251- no gen though- and I have this nagging, faint memory that I read on one of the boards that the 251 should not be run
from a generated power supply. No idea why however. Anyone ever tried quadlinear's proposed set up?...MIles.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.