Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-17-2022, 02:52 PM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 2,165
Default

I know. We had a 250 with the 30A at work, so I know it works, just not well. I do have the wc115 so I'll check it out. Some of the reading I've done suggests the cobramatics may work if they have the "posa-start". I know at least one of mine does, we'll see how that works too.

I went to pick it up today and asked if he'd take 1100, he did, I'm happy.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-21-2022, 01:34 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 22,397
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gimpyrobb View Post
I know. We had a 250 with the 30A at work, so I know it works, just not well. I do have the wc115 so I'll check it out. Some of the reading I've done suggests the cobramatics may work if they have the "posa-start". I know at least one of mine does, we'll see how that works too.

I went to pick it up today and asked if he'd take 1100, he did, I'm happy.
A WC-115 wire feeder and a 30A spoolgun off a Syncrowave???

I would not expect that to work well at all...
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-21-2022, 02:47 PM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 2,165
Default

We had that setup at the last place I worked. It wasn't great but worked OK. I'll probably keep one of my cv machines just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-21-2022, 06:10 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 22,397
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gimpyrobb View Post
We had that setup at the last place I worked. It wasn't great but worked OK. I'll probably keep one of my cv machines just in case.
I think your definition of OK and mine are different.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-21-2022, 06:25 PM
JBFab JBFab is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,649
Default

I can't imagine how that would work, for standard mig or fcaw you need a CV power source.

Sent from my mobile device using ShopFloorTalk mobile app
__________________
I believe the appropriate metaphor here involves a river of excrement and a Native American water vessel without any means of propulsion.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-26-2022, 06:41 AM
bunkclimber bunkclimber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: maryland,USA
Posts: 446
Default Synchrowave

all Syncrowave machines were single phase, from the 250 right on up to the 500..internally strappable for 200/240v or 440/480. Ive found some difficulty with the front panel function/mode switches,from sitting in one position for many years they may need replacement..worked for me..they are pretty bombproof but some parts are no longer being made for these older units.
__________________
Mig, Tig, Saw, Heat, Plasma, Turn, Bend, Grind and Blast
Lift, Load, Push, Compress, Generate, Illuminate + Elevate
Not Enough Room to do it all..at least at the same time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.