Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Mechanical & Electrical

 
 
SFT Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2024, 11:42 PM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 2,426
Default Electric panels

Getting ready to upgrade electrical service, what's the best panels?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2024, 06:50 AM
toprecycler's Avatar
toprecycler toprecycler is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 6,992
Default

The ones that your local stores has circuit breakers for. I can’t say anything more, but that would be my main consideration. I would guess that you should be able to get most new ones at one of the big box stores, but I know the two big ones don’t seem to carry all the same ones.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Brian

You don't know what you don't know.

"It's what you learn after you know it all that counts." John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2024, 10:34 AM
midmosandblasting's Avatar
midmosandblasting midmosandblasting is online now
Blast this!
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Calhoun ,Mo
Posts: 9,143
Default

GE ,Square D ,Homeline all take same breakers .Easier to find .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2024, 10:38 AM
Norcal Norcal is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,972
Default

Anything except Eaton BR which I call "Zinsco II" or GE, some people like Leviton loadcenters but I worry they will go the way of SQ D Trillaint, which died & parts are impossible to find, I prefer copper bus, so Eaton CH, or SQ D QO are higher quality, SQ D Homeline is aluminum bussed, Siemens had some class action suits going on, but I am mostly a anything but BR, hated them for over 40 years starting when they were still Bryant.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2024, 11:14 AM
Norcal Norcal is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,972
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midmosandblasting View Post
GE ,Square D ,Homeline all take same breakers .Easier to find .
But they are not interchangeable, GE is not classified to be used in competitive makes of panels, Square D has a link stating the same thing about Homeline breakers, there is really no such thing as a interchangeable breaker, stuffing a mix of makes of breakers in a panel is a sure sign somebody does not know what they are doing, the only 1" wide breakers that can be used is Eaton CL & are not the same as BR, and they are more expensive then original equipment products. The only panels that did allow other makes is the now obsolete Murray/Crouse-Hinds panels, they allowed Murray/Crouse-Hinds, ITE, & Bryant breakers to be used.

SQ D link https://www.se.com/us/en/faqs/FA129931/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2024, 12:38 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 23,118
Default

I put in SD Homeline panels 30 years ago, got great service out of them,
zero problems. No problem with buying parts.

I have been replacing my GFCI outlets with GFCI breakers as the outlets fail;
have not had a Homeline GFCI breaker fail yet.

The only panel I have that is not homeline now is my phase converter/ 3 phase
set up as there is no such thing as 3 phase Homeline. So I did a QO style in
that. But is set up as a sub panel off my service to the shop. My shop is fed
from the transformer at the road and has it's own meter separate from the
house. I am zoned ag. so I can easily do that.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2024, 06:26 PM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 2,426
Default

I wasn't sure if this was a dumb question but I see a lot of things I hadn't considered! Thanks gang.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2024, 09:15 PM
slip knot slip knot is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Texas gulf coast
Posts: 1,112
Default

I would avoid the GE cans. I've had a GE panel on my house for 20+ years with no problems but the newer panels we have at work have had issues with breakers failing. They seem to open internally. The toggle will show on or closed and some have even functioned and seemed to reset but the power doesn't go through. SOP now is to cycle the breaker then check voltage out.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-2024, 12:21 PM
Norcal Norcal is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,972
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade Tree Welder View Post
I put in SD Homeline panels 30 years ago, got great service out of them,
zero problems. No problem with buying parts.

I have been replacing my GFCI outlets with GFCI breakers as the outlets fail;
have not had a Homeline GFCI breaker fail yet.

The only panel I have that is not homeline now is my phase converter/ 3 phase
set up as there is no such thing as 3 phase Homeline. So I did a QO style in
that. But is set up as a sub panel off my service to the shop. My shop is fed
from the transformer at the road and has it's own meter separate from the
house. I am zoned ag. so I can easily do that.
The only thing "wrong" with Homeline panels is they are aluminum bussed, but SQ D is the only manufacturer to apply a dab of oxide inhibitor to the HOM breakers, SQ D introduced HOM products for competitive reasons, because QO is a premium line, and they wanted more of the residential market.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-11-2024, 01:31 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 23,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcal View Post
The only thing "wrong" with Homeline panels is they are aluminum bussed, but SQ D is the only manufacturer to apply a dab of oxide inhibitor to the HOM breakers, SQ D introduced HOM products for competitive reasons, because QO is a premium line, and they wanted more of the residential market.
I cannot disagree, I have not had any corrosion issues, so they have done well there.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.