Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Shop & Safety

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-03-2006, 10:13 AM
Sberry's Avatar
Sberry Sberry is offline
GOD of Strawberries!!!
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,904
Default

And it would likely be a rare day to apply a 50A load for more than a couple seconds.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-05-2006, 05:26 PM
houlibar's Avatar
houlibar houlibar is offline
Lord of the Reins
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SoCal, most advanced third world country
Posts: 1,893
Default The Mother of all Power Strips

Okay, I read Ron's thread Center Tap Transformer. So if I understand correctly, you can use the 240V full KV receptical of an engine drive to power more 120V recepticles if the two on the generator aren't enough. You could use each of the two hots and the neutral to power two separate 120V buss's of up to 40 amps each.

Has anyone ever made up a box like that? I'd like to see how it's done.
__________________
Scott
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-05-2006, 07:52 PM
Tom Zachman's Avatar
Tom Zachman Tom Zachman is offline
Dodge City Marshal
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dodge City Kansas
Posts: 7,921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by houlibar
Okay, I read Ron's thread Center Tap Transformer. So if I understand correctly, you can use the 240V full KV receptical of an engine drive to power more 120V recepticles if the two on the generator aren't enough. You could use each of the two hots and the neutral to power two separate 120V buss's of up to 40 amps each.

Has anyone ever made up a box like that? I'd like to see how it's done.
Physically; YES. The limits of the circuits are breaker'd but the real loads can't exeed the total (engineered) output of the genset.

Your two new 40A X 120V loads ='s 4800 Watts. How close is that to the rated output of the genset? Can you then add the power (in Watts) available from the two existing 120V recepticles (prolly 2400 Watts) and not exceed the rated output?

We typically use electricity to run resistance and/or inductance devices. Heater/light coils are resistive and motors are inductive. Resistance loads remain (mostly) constant during use. Inductance loads can vary wildly during use.
__________________
New sig line:

Quote:
Knock, knock. Anyone home? Anyone there? Barack Obama exists only as the sock puppet of his handlers, of the people who have maneuvered and manufactured this pathetic individual’s life.
http://factsnotfantasy.blogspot.com/...ieve-life.html
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-07-2006, 05:26 PM
houlibar's Avatar
houlibar houlibar is offline
Lord of the Reins
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SoCal, most advanced third world country
Posts: 1,893
Default

Tom, the generator is rated at 9500W, continuous. The other 120V recepticles are breaker'd for 20A each. So I guess that would only leave 40A or another two 20A recepticles from each hot wire on the 240V plug. I was thinking more of a redneck power strip with say six or eight 15A recepticles. Something to get by in a power outage in the home. Plug in the fridge, some lights and maybe run the washer/dryer.
__________________
Scott
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-07-2006, 05:40 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 22,245
Default

9500W = 79.2A at 120V = 39.6A at 240V.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:57 PM
Broccoli1's Avatar
Broccoli1 Broccoli1 is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,053
Default

Doesn't that 14-50r allow for up to 39amps @ 120v?

It's 39 amps either 240v or 120v correct? Can't he just wire up a 14-50 Plug and at the other end split it to 2 5-15 Rs? Then run 2 Power strips with CB's on them?

??
__________________
Ed Conley
MM211 AS
MM252
Spoolmate 100
SO 2020 Bender
Miller 125c Plasma
TA 185
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:13 PM
Broccoli1's Avatar
Broccoli1 Broccoli1 is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by houlibar
Tom, the generator is rated at 9500W, continuous. The other 120V recepticles are breaker'd for 20A each. So I guess that would only leave 40A or another two 20A recepticles from each hot wire on the 240V plug. I was thinking more of a redneck power strip with say six or eight 15A recepticles. Something to get by in a power outage in the home. Plug in the fridge, some lights and maybe run the washer/dryer.

I see where Tom got his response because you said 40 amps EACH (earlier) not 40 amps available, which you corrected in this post


You can make yer Redneck Power strip Over thinking it myself. I'll see if I can get a Pic of the Splitters we use on the Honda 7000s- which have the 30A 125/250V Locking Plug
NEMA Plug Number:
L14-30P

Same idea but just a lower rated Plug.
__________________
Ed Conley
MM211 AS
MM252
Spoolmate 100
SO 2020 Bender
Miller 125c Plasma
TA 185
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-10-2006, 06:09 PM
Broccoli1's Avatar
Broccoli1 Broccoli1 is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,053
Default

Here ya go Scott.


Pic Plug 3 has a it wired to a Bates connection and then out to 15ampers because we use various set ups but you would just wire directly to the 15s.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Plug1a.jpg
Views:	184
Size:	18.3 KB
ID:	14798   Click image for larger version

Name:	Plug1.jpg
Views:	174
Size:	24.4 KB
ID:	14799   Click image for larger version

Name:	Plug2.jpg
Views:	198
Size:	24.0 KB
ID:	14800   Click image for larger version

Name:	Plug3.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	33.6 KB
ID:	14801  
__________________
Ed Conley
MM211 AS
MM252
Spoolmate 100
SO 2020 Bender
Miller 125c Plasma
TA 185
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.