Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-18-2021, 02:38 PM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 2,160
Default

Well he was right. I've checked everything I can think of. I'm going to wait and see if using the pedal changes anything, but it seems I may have lost out on this one.

Am I correct in thinking changing the input voltage taps will do no good? According to my vom, I've got 245vac at the 230v input taps. It has an open circuit voltage of 75vdc. I never thought to check ac voltage open, but I did try welding with the same result.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-18-2021, 08:38 PM
mccutter's Avatar
mccutter mccutter is offline
Do I have a life?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 10,690
Default

Unplug it, pull the side panels off and look at the connections from the input to the switches, at the caps, etc. Get out the ohmmeter and check for continuities. Look for loose, corroded or scorched connections. Older TIGs like this are very robust inside. Will it stick weld on DC?
__________________

TA Arcmaster 185 w/tig/stick kit
MillerMatic 252 w/3rd gen 30A
MM140 w/o AS, w/CO2
Hobart (Miller) 625 plasma
Hobart 250ci plasma
Victor O/A (always ready, but bored)
HF 80 lunchbox w/tig
45ACP Black Talons for those stubborn jobs...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-19-2021, 09:33 AM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 2,160
Default

I tried welding in with switching every setting possible. I've looked around inside. Nothing stands out, but I haven't pulled the 2 circuit boards out yet. It's been raining and shitty and we have family crap scheduled.

I will do more when the pedal shows up. Not going to use this as a stick unit anyhoo.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-19-2021, 12:08 PM
Scotts's Avatar
Scotts Scotts is offline
Stuff, Just stuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 5,513
Default

Is there a wiring schematic on an inside cover? If so post it in a good clear picture and we will see. I poked around a bit and did not see one.

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-19-2021, 12:26 PM
greywynd's Avatar
greywynd greywynd is offline
I can dig it
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wainwright, Alberta
Posts: 6,268
Default

Can’t help with the electric side of it, but sounds like a start circuit is working, but the actual ‘weld’ circuit isn’t taking over.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-19-2021, 01:25 PM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 2,160
Default

There is minimal schematics on the cover. I am going to see what I can find online, but our family shindig is taking most of my time currently.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20211218_132918.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	201.5 KB
ID:	162984   Click image for larger version

Name:	20211218_132931.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	203.9 KB
ID:	162985   Click image for larger version

Name:	20211218_132941.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	196.7 KB
ID:	162986   Click image for larger version

Name:	20211218_132947.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	204.7 KB
ID:	162987   Click image for larger version

Name:	20211218_132953.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	203.0 KB
ID:	162988  

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-19-2021, 01:29 PM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 2,160
Default

When I have more time, I'll pull the boards out and look at the traces, resistors, capacitors, etc to see if anything needs replaced.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-19-2021, 02:33 PM
Scotts's Avatar
Scotts Scotts is offline
Stuff, Just stuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 5,513
Default

Family first!!

I see power schematics and no control schematics, You may not have any control schematics as they wanted to keep that in house.

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-19-2021, 04:41 PM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 2,160
Default

Correct, I have been looking for any info on the tigwave, it is surprisingly hard to find info on it.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-19-2021, 05:05 PM
unfinished unfinished is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rust Belt
Posts: 86
Default

Did a search, found this pdf. I think it's same machine?
Attached Files
File Type: pdf thermal_arc_tigwave_250ac_dc_eng-om.pdf (2.73 MB, 104 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.