Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2008, 06:40 PM
markct markct is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: northfield, ct
Posts: 82
Send a message via Yahoo to markct
Default lincoln idealarc tig 300/300 no output on tig

i just got a lincoln idealarc tig, bought it real cheap, i hooked it up and it works great on the stick welding setting, but i have no output on the inert gas welding setting. any ideas on what could be wrong, any common things to check before i send it off to the repair shop? i dont know exactly what setting it should be on to get tig output, it has a switch for gas, or stick, a switch for soft start on and off, and a switch for spark, with an off on and start only position, as well as the ac, and dc switch and of course amp settings
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:09 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,423
Default

Looks like there's more then one manual.
Is this the one ?

http://content.lincolnelectric.com/p..._IMS/IM333.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:17 PM
markct markct is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: northfield, ct
Posts: 82
Send a message via Yahoo to markct
Default

sorry gwiz but whenever i try to open that pdf my old junky computer freezes. the welder is the older style with the big square housing and relatively flat top with a ring in the center, not the early rounded top. i dont know how old it is
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:24 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,423
Default

Try This.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tig.jpg
Views:	631
Size:	83.7 KB
ID:	31268  
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:33 PM
markct markct is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: northfield, ct
Posts: 82
Send a message via Yahoo to markct
Default

hmm ok so i think i may have been overlooking a simple thing here! since up near the plug for the foot pedal it has a switch that says panel or remote i had been thinking that on panel it would work without the pedal, which i dont have, but now that i think of it yea how would it know to turn on the gas and all! duh silly me, looks like i gota find a pedal and try it that way! thanks for pointing this out to me, its logical just slipped by my mind
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:41 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,423
Default

I'll have to get back to you later.

Read it again, I don't think you need the pedal at this time

"Remote OR arc start switch".

The manual is hard to read I'll have to print it and see what I come up with.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:59 PM
markct markct is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: northfield, ct
Posts: 82
Send a message via Yahoo to markct
Default

yea i see what your saying, but it seems i would need some kinda input to tell it to start the gas and water, like maybe not a footpedal but a on off switch, once you switch the control from stick to tig the contactor on top drops out, so i assume that once it gets input from pedal or arc start switch it would close. maybe, or maybe im thinking all wrong!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-25-2008, 04:46 AM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,423
Default

Looks like your right.
I wasn't sure if the panel/remote switch would also bypassed the remote switch. Looks like, just the amp control is bypassed.

Too many manuals to go thru.

It Appears that you can switch the remote switch to select, panel operation or foot pedal to control the amps.
But you still need a hand button or the built in pedal switch to trigger the TIG items.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-25-2008, 05:46 PM
markct markct is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: northfield, ct
Posts: 82
Send a message via Yahoo to markct
Default

well i stopped at airgas today and ordered a hand torch amp control, should be alot more practical for most of what i do than a foot pedal. price wasnt too bad, 207 bucks, but the real pisser was the adapter harness needed to go to my old style plug was 90 bucks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.