Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-01-2020, 03:47 PM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 14,666
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by camdigger View Post
I am lucky enough, my compressor has a regulator on the discharge already. Might be worth playing with the input pressure to the plasma cutter.

A bigger issue for me is adequate power. When I built my shop 20 years ago, I couldn't imagine needing more than one 220v low amperage circuit... Now I am 20 years older an only a bit wiser.
For most of what I do, I want full pressure, impacts, grinders, blow guns, are very happy with lots of pressure. You can't paint, or use a nailer, or plasma, at my tank pressure though.
__________________
Gerry
You got freedom of speech, if you don't say too much.
Aaron Neville.

The virtue is always a cover for the sin. That's the key to understanding the modern left. Whatever they're accusing you of doing, they are doing themselves but more enthusiastically. And that's definitely the story of Justin Trudeau. Tucker Carlson
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-01-2020, 05:20 PM
terry lingle's Avatar
terry lingle terry lingle is offline
Something's Fishy ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birch Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,484
Default

I have found that impacts work well at 90-100 PSI If you have a reservoir in close proximity to the tool. Without the reservoir the actual working pressure may be lower than 90 psi from line loss even if running at 150 + tank pressure. Running higher pressure just increases the risk of injury from a blowout.
it also costs a lot more to compress air from 135 to 160 than it costs to get it to 135.
I was looking at my hoses just last week nothing newer than 25 years except the new couplers I got last fall because I got tired of the constant hiss from the old ones with hard o rings.
__________________
Life beats the alternative hands down.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-01-2020, 06:35 PM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 14,666
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry lingle View Post
I have found that impacts work well at 90-100 PSI If you have a reservoir in close proximity to the tool. Without the reservoir the actual working pressure may be lower than 90 psi from line loss even if running at 150 + tank pressure. Running higher pressure just increases the risk of injury from a blowout.
it also costs a lot more to compress air from 135 to 160 than it costs to get it to 135.
I was looking at my hoses just last week nothing newer than 25 years except the new couplers I got last fall because I got tired of the constant hiss from the old ones with hard o rings.
Line loss, never heard of it, I have 3/4" steel lines throughout the shop with 1/2 steel drops.
I went that pressure 25 years ago, because I could not remove the wheel nuts of my truck. One time just after a change and balance I had a flat and wanted to put my spare on with my new Chicago impact. I could not remove the nuts without a flex bar and snipe. I went back to the tire shop and told him, asked why was my impact junk. He said, Try 160, nobody runs 110. We use the torque set drive extensions so your torque is right.

I stopped and verified at a couple garages and then went home and wound it up. It turns on at 120 and off at 165, and it definitely removed my wheel nuts.
__________________
Gerry
You got freedom of speech, if you don't say too much.
Aaron Neville.

The virtue is always a cover for the sin. That's the key to understanding the modern left. Whatever they're accusing you of doing, they are doing themselves but more enthusiastically. And that's definitely the story of Justin Trudeau. Tucker Carlson
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-01-2020, 06:40 PM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 14,666
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by camdigger View Post
I am lucky enough, my compressor has a regulator on the discharge already. Might be worth playing with the input pressure to the plasma cutter.

A bigger issue for me is adequate power. When I built my shop 20 years ago, I couldn't imagine needing more than one 220v low amperage circuit... Now I am 20 years older an only a bit wiser.
When you get that new underground line installed, may be time to run another line to the shop at the same time.
__________________
Gerry
You got freedom of speech, if you don't say too much.
Aaron Neville.

The virtue is always a cover for the sin. That's the key to understanding the modern left. Whatever they're accusing you of doing, they are doing themselves but more enthusiastically. And that's definitely the story of Justin Trudeau. Tucker Carlson
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-01-2020, 06:49 PM
Scott V's Avatar
Scott V Scott V is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Prineville Oregon
Posts: 3,271
Default

The max/min air pressure setting is always in the manual.(go figure) Most never exceed 125 psi mark. Least the Hypertherm/Esab/Thermal Dynamics machines I have owned..

Most people end up with issues from restrictions and low CFM.
__________________
HARLEY-DAVIDSON: "THE MOST EFFECTIVE WAY TO CONVERT GASOLINE INTO NOISE WITHOUT THE SIDE-EFFECTS OF HORSEPOWER":evil:
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-01-2020, 08:39 PM
camdigger's Avatar
camdigger camdigger is offline
Roving Reporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Central Oilberta
Posts: 3,731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman View Post
When you get that new underground line installed, may be time to run another line to the shop at the same time.
No need to mess with the shop line. The shop has the same size cable as the new supply will be. I have all the bits and bobs to add another 15 amp 220 v circuit, but the ambition to do it. Come to think of it, it would be a good job for tomorrow...... Crank the heat up for an hour or so, then shut off the subpanel in the shop and install the space saver breaker and an outlet outside the panel.

It has to be a daylight job because I hate working in a panel with a flashlight in my mouth, or using a headlamp.....
__________________
Design to 0.001", measure to 1/32", cut with an axe, grind to fit..
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-02-2020, 07:10 AM
digger doug's Avatar
digger doug digger doug is offline
Not to be used as a Flotation Device
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Pa
Posts: 12,346
Default

I'm thinking a 20-50 gallon air receiver downstream of the regulator (and upstream of the plasma) would help keep things right on the numbers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.