Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2006, 06:27 PM
beasjc's Avatar
beasjc beasjc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 80
Default tig conversion

hey everybody! I was wondering if anybody could help me figure out how to put a thumb amp control on my tig. It's the cheap Harbor freight one. I would like to put a thumb switch on it, but as far as I know, there is not one made for it. The amp dial on the front has three wires going to it. Could I find a three wire control and wire it in? I know you can't tell me to just do it because of safety, but I have a little sense, so if something doesn't sound right, I won't try it. If the parts are available, and it can be done, I think I am able to do the work, no problem. I just don't know about the parts. Any suggestions, idea's?

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=91811
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic001.jpg
Views:	371
Size:	58.0 KB
ID:	10041   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic006.jpg
Views:	339
Size:	56.2 KB
ID:	10042   Click image for larger version

Name:	tig1001.jpg
Views:	337
Size:	59.2 KB
ID:	10043  
__________________
beas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2006, 07:22 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,436
Default

First, what do you think of the welder ? good/bad ?
What's the duty cycle on the machine ?


What about making a foot control ?
What's all the markings on the heat control ?
Do you have a volt/ohm meter ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2006, 10:53 PM
beasjc's Avatar
beasjc beasjc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 80
Default

The welder does what it should for what I paid for it, how I treat it, and that I bought it to learn tig. It's scratch start, dc only, but I can tig steel, which I couldn't do before. It is 5 to 130 amps, divisions of 1 through 10 on the dial. It is a 35% duty cycle, and I hit it a few times in the heat of the summer, but not often. Then again, I'm not really pushing it either. A foot control would be ok, but I think I would rather have hand control. I'm rarely sitting at a bench, and hand control seems like it would be more comfortable. Yes, I have a volt/ohm meter. If you have anymore questions, ask away. I really want amp control!!
__________________
beas
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2006, 11:43 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is online now
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 22,408
Default

I down loaded the manual on that machine, and the amperage is controlle via a potentiometer. You would have to fine another potentiometer of the same specifictions and the be able to isolate the orignial from the circuit and feed you new one you mount on the torch. You might get lucky and a standard finger control may have the same specs as the one in the machine. You will also have to install a jack or hard wire it yourself. It can be done but I would not call it easy.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2006, 12:10 AM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beasjc
If you have anymore questions, ask away. I really want amp control!!
See picture.
I need all the markings off the control like the ones in the pix.
They may be printed on the side and not the back, like in my pix.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	C1 P2240230.JPG
Views:	322
Size:	48.4 KB
ID:	10056  
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-25-2006, 12:13 AM
cutter's Avatar
cutter cutter is offline

12-29-1943 to 1-17-2020
Curmudgeon emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lubbock,Texas
Posts: 33,110
Default

From my point of view, matching it should be easy, wiring it (3 wires?) should be a piece of cake.
Mounting it so it would be easy to manipulate would be the tricky part.
__________________
cutter
Housekeeping Staff: the Gatekeeper
Director of Policy, Syntax and Grammar (by appointment)

"Dr. Chandran, will I dream?"

Just Keep Walking

"I am not a body, I am free.
For I am still as God created me."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-25-2006, 06:16 AM
Tom Zachman's Avatar
Tom Zachman Tom Zachman is offline
Dodge City Marshal
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dodge City Kansas
Posts: 7,921
Default

Disconnect the original pot and measure the resistance between the two outside lugs. Specify that number with "linear taper" and not Audio taper. "Oil filled" would keep contamination away from the wiper.
__________________
New sig line:

Quote:
Knock, knock. Anyone home? Anyone there? Barack Obama exists only as the sock puppet of his handlers, of the people who have maneuvered and manufactured this pathetic individual’s life.
http://factsnotfantasy.blogspot.com/...ieve-life.html
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-25-2006, 10:41 AM
beasjc's Avatar
beasjc beasjc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 80
Default

Thanks for the help so far. On the circuit board, it has
f1647-1
a4942
PH03.04

on the meter is a sticker that has
HA
B10K
here are some pics of it, and since how do I like the machine was asked, here is a picture of the lincoln Biplane, that I learned to tig while making(can you say grey hair now!)

pics are not real good, I'm working on that!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic007.jpg
Views:	297
Size:	41.2 KB
ID:	10064   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic009.jpg
Views:	284
Size:	55.3 KB
ID:	10065   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic008.jpg
Views:	273
Size:	52.4 KB
ID:	10066  
__________________
beas
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2006, 11:29 AM
Sberry's Avatar
Sberry Sberry is offline
GOD of Strawberries!!!
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,905
Default

This is a good idea, we hear a lot of half assed things about modifying welders but this control for that machine is excellent. Its cheap and ought to work. Well worth the time and cost to dodder around with.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-25-2006, 02:59 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beasjc

on the meter is a sticker that has
HA
B10K

Your saying "Meter",
Your Picture 007 shows a "Control" I assume its the heat control.
Is the numbers from a sticker on the "Control", or are you talking about your volt/ohm "meter" ?
I want any and all numbers off the "Control"

I dont want to assume anything.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.