Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Fabrication

SFT Search:   

Old 11-17-2020, 01:12 AM

Default Belt Drive vs Chain and Sprocket vs Gears

Which is best for what use and why?

When I see a chain and sprocket on a motorcycle I don't understand why that's used instead of a belt drive or some kind of gear and shaft assembly.

Or another example: most industrial grinders have a gearbox, why not use a chain and sprocket?

I'm really an expert engineer, just testing you guys of course.
Old 11-17-2020, 06:51 AM
Not to be used as a Flotation Device

Quote:
Originally Posted by staybusy View Post

When I see a chain and sprocket on a motorcycle I don't understand why that's used instead of a belt drive or some kind of gear and shaft assembly.

Or another example: most industrial grinders have a gearbox, why not use a chain and sprocket?

Did we ask you for a test ?

Try cracking a book.
Old 11-17-2020, 08:19 AM
Elite Member

Well I’m not an expert engineer but in the case for a motorcycle I suspect packaging issue is one reason for a chain. Moreover a sprocket on the rear wheel is much lighter than a gear case and shaft. This reduced unsprung weight and lowering of CG I imagine has a significant affect on the handling of a bike.

It started hitting the fan in the 1950's https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=nRnNDkHb0MU

A technologically advanced society would teach their children how to start a fire by rubbing two sticks together before teaching them how to use a lighter.

If you are not having fun then you are doing it wrong.
Old 11-17-2020, 10:02 AM
Iron Modification Investigator

Belts do not work well below 500 rpm.
Roller chains and gears do.
Speed reduction in a small package is hard to do with belts/chains compared to gears.
And yeah, threepiece you are right about unsprung weight