Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Shop & Safety

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1281  
Old 01-03-2021, 10:00 PM
OldRedFord's Avatar
OldRedFord OldRedFord is offline
Kibble King
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hull GA
Posts: 3,971
Send a message via AIM to OldRedFord Send a message via Yahoo to OldRedFord
Default

Regarding the insulation....

For now the plan is to spray the ceiling and use fiberglass on the walls of the shop. This would be the roll insulation that came with the building.

Personal taste on the outlet height. I don't really move furniture around. After its plugged in, it's plugged in. Ymmv.

The laundry and bathroom and kichen are now fully wired.
Even though it's a small space there's a lot going on.

To help me remember things when it comes time to install breakers and switches I labeled the wires with a sharpie.

Switch legs are labeled at their boxes and home runs are labeled at the panel.
__________________
Tim
Self appointed director of junk, and old vehicles.

Last edited by OldRedFord; 01-03-2021 at 10:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #1282  
Old 01-04-2021, 07:48 PM
OldRedFord's Avatar
OldRedFord OldRedFord is offline
Kibble King
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hull GA
Posts: 3,971
Send a message via AIM to OldRedFord Send a message via Yahoo to OldRedFord
Default

This evening I spent some time cleaning up.

Some before and after pictures. Also a picture of the progress on the panel for my living space. I want to.add a 2x4 running horizontal above the panel to secure wires to and be at the within 12" rule.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0104211858_HDR.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	200.1 KB
ID:	159082   Click image for larger version

Name:	0104211858a_HDR.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	204.4 KB
ID:	159083   Click image for larger version

Name:	0104211923.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	200.8 KB
ID:	159084   Click image for larger version

Name:	0104211924_HDR.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	203.9 KB
ID:	159085   Click image for larger version

Name:	0104211945_HDR.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	201.8 KB
ID:	159086  

__________________
Tim
Self appointed director of junk, and old vehicles.
Reply With Quote
  #1283  
Old 01-04-2021, 11:23 PM
OldRedFord's Avatar
OldRedFord OldRedFord is offline
Kibble King
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hull GA
Posts: 3,971
Send a message via AIM to OldRedFord Send a message via Yahoo to OldRedFord
Default

I have a sub panel in my living space. 150 amps.

The feeder from the main panel will be run in conduit untill I get inside the framing in my living space. At this point can I keep running the thhn that is in the conduit or do I need to change to seu cable between the conduit and panel?

If a circuit doesn't need to be gfci then it probably needs to be afci? That would be the bedroom, and living room?


I posted this on Facebook and the answer is hire a electrician.


No I want to know if I can continue the thhn wire to the panel or if I need to use seu wire between the conduit and panel.

I can't run conduit the entire way unless I use flex with how I framed everything.

I'm not going to shock myself or kill others.
__________________
Tim
Self appointed director of junk, and old vehicles.
Reply With Quote
  #1284  
Old 01-09-2021, 07:51 PM
OldRedFord's Avatar
OldRedFord OldRedFord is offline
Kibble King
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hull GA
Posts: 3,971
Send a message via AIM to OldRedFord Send a message via Yahoo to OldRedFord
Default

Got another section of soffits ready to go up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0109211939.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	195.6 KB
ID:	159117  
__________________
Tim
Self appointed director of junk, and old vehicles.
Reply With Quote
  #1285  
Old 01-10-2021, 10:51 AM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 15,304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldRedFord View Post
Got another section of soffits ready to go up.
Hey Tim, glad to see you went to foam on the ceiling. I can't help with the wire info, but I would talk to a sparky and get his advise.
__________________
Gerry
You got freedom of speech, if you don't say too much.
Aaron Neville.

The virtue is always a cover for the sin. That's the key to understanding the modern left. Whatever they're accusing you of doing, they are doing themselves but more enthusiastically. And that's definitely the story of Justin Trudeau. Tucker Carlson
Reply With Quote
  #1286  
Old 01-10-2021, 02:06 PM
milomilo's Avatar
milomilo milomilo is offline
Auction Addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wheatland, Wyoming
Posts: 17,068
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldRedFord View Post
I have a sub panel in my living space. 150 amps.

The feeder from the main panel will be run in conduit untill I get inside the framing in my living space. At this point can I keep running the thhn that is in the conduit or do I need to change to seu cable between the conduit and panel?

If a circuit doesn't need to be gfci then it probably needs to be afci? That would be the bedroom, and living room?


I posted this on Facebook and the answer is hire a electrician.


No I want to know if I can continue the thhn wire to the panel or if I need to use seu wire between the conduit and panel.

I can't run conduit the entire way unless I use flex with how I framed everything.

I'm not going to shock myself or kill others.
Here is what I found. Not sure what Georgia is using 2014 or later.

Edit: Just found this.
__________________
Chris

The question isn't who is going to let me; it's who is going to stop me.

Last edited by milomilo; 01-10-2021 at 07:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #1287  
Old 01-10-2021, 05:44 PM
OldRedFord's Avatar
OldRedFord OldRedFord is offline
Kibble King
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hull GA
Posts: 3,971
Send a message via AIM to OldRedFord Send a message via Yahoo to OldRedFord
Default

I belive Georgia is on the 2020 NEC now.

Soffits are finished in the living space. Now to finish the electrical and frame the ceiling in the loft closet.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0110211414_HDR.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	206.8 KB
ID:	159127   Click image for larger version

Name:	0110211717a.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	204.5 KB
ID:	159128   Click image for larger version

Name:	0110211717.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	213.8 KB
ID:	159129   Click image for larger version

Name:	0110211720_HDR.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	200.6 KB
ID:	159130   Click image for larger version

Name:	0110211718_HDR.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	207.3 KB
ID:	159131  

__________________
Tim
Self appointed director of junk, and old vehicles.
Reply With Quote
  #1288  
Old 01-11-2021, 07:09 AM
toprecycler's Avatar
toprecycler toprecycler is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 5,200
Default

Thinking about the foam on the ceiling,is the price quoted for installing with all the wood strips there? That is going to make a lot more work for him, and I can see him raising the price.


Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk
__________________
Brian

You don't know what you don't know.

"It's what you learn after you know it all that counts." John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #1289  
Old 01-11-2021, 08:52 AM
bunkclimber bunkclimber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: maryland,USA
Posts: 399
Default Morton subpanel+internal wirin'

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldRedFord View Post
I have a sub panel in my living space. 150 amps.

The feeder from the main panel will be run in conduit untill I get inside the framing in my living space. At this point can I keep running the thhn that is in the conduit or do I need to change to seu cable between the conduit and panel?

If a circuit doesn't need to be gfci then it probably needs to be afci? That would be the bedroom, and living room?
1. If it's a subpanel you need to be separating the neutrals and grounds AT the subpanel and installing a separate ground bar in the subpanel for the ground wires,not combining the neutral and grounds..in a subpanel the grounds connect to a separate ground bar and not the neutral..you will also need to be running 4 wires to the subpanel from the main service panel or service entrance panel,that is the only place the grounds and neutral bond together,at the place of service..if it is a wood frame structure yes you can run SE type cable- but not 'SEU' to the subpanel, you need to use SER cable which is 3wire+concentric ground. Some localities require a full-size neutral,some don't watch your cable some has a reduced neutral..like 4/0-4/0-2/0
2. yes you need to install AFCI's for receptacle circuits in the residential area of the structure to be in code compliance if this job is to be inspected..you'd be smart to hold off on your drywall install until inspection is made if required..they will make you pull it off unless one side is visible some will some wont depends on your local authority
3.outlet height in residential rooms, hold claw hammer head on floor,put nailer box on top of hammer handle end,holding box to stud with other hand swing hammer drive nails into stud.Dont hit hand fingers etc with hammer.ouch. 4ft off floor in bathrooms and garages as typical install,unless customer specs otherwise
4. The SEU cable to feed the subpanel should be OK in the Morton building as long as its run as not to be susceptible to being damaged. Watch your holes in wood framing members studs,joists etc holes centered in studs,not too close to edge where sheetrock screws can penetrate wiring causing hidden damage..use nail plates on studs where questionable
__________________
Mig, Tig, Saw, Heat, Plasma, Turn, Bend, Grind and Blast
Lift, Load, Push, Compress, Generate, Illuminate + Elevate
Not Enough Room to do it all..at least at the same time.

Last edited by bunkclimber; 01-11-2021 at 09:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #1290  
Old 01-11-2021, 12:05 PM
OldRedFord's Avatar
OldRedFord OldRedFord is offline
Kibble King
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hull GA
Posts: 3,971
Send a message via AIM to OldRedFord Send a message via Yahoo to OldRedFord
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toprecycler View Post
Thinking about the foam on the ceiling,is the price quoted for installing with all the wood strips there? That is going to make a lot more work for him, and I can see him raising the price.


Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk
Thats on for above the shop. Not above my living space. No wood strips.
__________________
Tim
Self appointed director of junk, and old vehicles.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.