Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-08-2013, 02:34 PM
H80N's Avatar
H80N H80N is offline
That Man Behind The Curtain
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NE Pa
Posts: 5,180
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by cramd View Post
One word..............quality.
They are not cheap, but they are good.
.
I agree...

same reason I spend the extra for Miller Welders... (or Nikon Cameras )

I know they will work first time EVERY time...

now... this year... next year...and many years to come...

for me.. that peace if mind is worth the extra freight..

__________________
.
.

Pay no attention to that man behind the curtain..


The more you Know, The Better you Know, How little you Know (old Estonian saying)

Last edited by H80N; 05-08-2013 at 02:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-08-2013, 05:23 PM
Scotts's Avatar
Scotts Scotts is offline
Stuff, Just stuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 5,548
Default

I think we are all in agreement, i'll throw my thoughts in as well.

I can not see if an electrical circuit is live or not looking at it. It looks the same on or off if there is no light or something associated with it. Like the position of a breaker or disconnect handle. Even those can and do go bad and fool you. Therefore I trust my life with the quality of my equipment. Electrical test equipment in this case. You decide your level of comfort with your equipment.

Even then the back of a hand goes first.

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-08-2013, 05:33 PM
H80N's Avatar
H80N H80N is offline
That Man Behind The Curtain
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NE Pa
Posts: 5,180
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scotts View Post

Even then the back of a hand goes first.

Scott
Excellent advice....!!!

much better to slap yourself with a backhand from involuntary contraction

than a deathgrip and electrocution from an unexpected hot circuit...
__________________
.
.

Pay no attention to that man behind the curtain..


The more you Know, The Better you Know, How little you Know (old Estonian saying)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-08-2013, 07:34 PM
Samcord Samcord is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Peoria
Posts: 2,627
Default

An ammeter won't tell you a circuit is live, only if current is flowing.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-08-2013, 08:18 PM
Scotts's Avatar
Scotts Scotts is offline
Stuff, Just stuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 5,548
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samcord View Post
An ammeter won't tell you a circuit is live, only if current is flowing.
Very true, Thanks for the input.

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-08-2013, 09:03 PM
terry lingle's Avatar
terry lingle terry lingle is offline
Something's Fishy ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birch Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,655
Default

Fluke also and get a non contact voltage detector as well then use it.
as a life time electrical guy I have never taken a chance on whether a wire is live. Before I work on anything I want to know what the voltage and current limits are.
__________________
Life beats the alternative hands down.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-09-2013, 04:15 AM
akabull's Avatar
akabull akabull is offline
Maine-iac
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Albany Township, Maine
Posts: 2,240
Send a message via MSN to akabull
Default

Fluke is the inly way to go. I recommend a Fluke 337. I have had mine for 3+ years. I own several other fluke meters are well, but since purchasing the 337 I haven't really touched the others....

Always assume a circuit is live. Always work on a circuit as if it is live and you will live to talk about it.

Meters, voltage detectors, disconnects, etc all can and do fail (as someone else here already mentioned)
__________________
Chris in Maine
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-09-2013, 04:40 AM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,452
Default

Looks like there is a recall for some of the FLUKE 337.
http://www.fluke.com/fluke/usen/Supp...trck=33xrecall
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-09-2013, 05:19 AM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfram View Post
Thanks for the replies so far. Doing some research as we speak.

Right now, I'm considering either of two different Amprobe (owned by Fluke) models:

ACDC-100
or
ACDC-100 TRMS

Apparently the first one is an "averaging" ammeter and the second one is "true RMS" that uses "mean root square" or some such thing...the guy at Fluke said that it'll measure "what you've actually got" in case the wave form isn't a sine wave.



I asked him which he would get if he were me (just knowledgeable enough to be dangerous) and he said the TRMS version.

Do you folks agree/disagree?

Thanks again.
I haven't kept up with all the new bells and whistles on the newer meters, you will have to read the manuals.
===
Some things to consider.

I'm not a big fan of large clamp jaws, they will not get into a tight spot.

You are asking about peak hold, definitely a nice feature and a must have.
But in your case you will more then likely need one with a delay or a timed update sample, that is if there is one on the market.
when you first start the arc you are likely to draw well over 200 amps for a few milliseconds a peak hold meter will likely hold/display the high surge amps and not the welding amps after the surge.

The Data hold will lock the display but you will have to push the button while you are welding.


TRMS is a good idea.
Old AC meters are calibrated at a fixed 60 cycles (the line frequency).

Newer electronics chop up the 60 cycle frequency into some other frequency other-than 60 cycles, non TRMS meters may not display an accurate reading.

Example:
60 cycles (60 times a second), AC is the standard house current.
Say you have a desk lamp,
you start turning/cycling the power switch On and Off continuously nonstop.
the cycling of the switch alters the frequency at a rate of speed you cycle On/Off..

Modern electronics do the same, inverter welders..., switching the power at different speeds and random....., meters may not display a correct reading.
True RMS meters operate in a broader frequency range then the fixed 60 cycles giving a more accurate reading on modern electronics.
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-09-2013, 06:28 AM
Samcord Samcord is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Peoria
Posts: 2,627
Default

Here is something really cool - the AEMC 407. 1000 point recording capability, with wireless PC interface for $450. You can set it record every second, to every 10 minutes. I've not seen one, just read about it on Amazon.

You might be able to do something similar with a wireless fluke and a PC. I don't see any Flukes with onboard recording. Not trying to say bad things about Fluke. I love Fluke equipment. Just saying you can get more features for less money. All depends on your needs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.