Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2013, 01:33 PM
Wolfram's Avatar
Wolfram Wolfram is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 562
Default Amprobe Recommendations?

Hey, all,

I want to pick up an Amprobe (doesn't need to be that brand, but it needs to be the "clamp-around" type), and was wondering if anyone had any recommendations on brand/model.

The most immediate need I have for it is to calibrate a new (old) welder I picked up, a Miller 330A/BP, as a backup for my Sync 250.

I would like the instrument to:
Measure AC and DC current, up to say 500A
"Freeze" or "hold" values, so I could check welding amperages without having to read the meter while an arc was lit
Do various other jobs around the house/shop/boat/cars/bike

I'm no electrician by a long shot (could you guess? ) so I don't need anything too exotic ... on the other hand, I don't want to have to "buy twice."

Can anyone recommend any brands/models or otherwise offer me any advice on features that are handy to have? I'd like to keep it below $100 or $150 if possible.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2013, 02:41 PM
moe1942's Avatar
moe1942 moe1942 is offline
Voice of Experience
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Alexandria, Louisiana
Posts: 11,236
Default

Fluke..
__________________
Don't pick a fight with an old man. If he is too old to fight, he'll just kill you... John Steinbeck

"If we ever forget that we're one nation under God, then we will
be a nation gone under". ~Ronald Reagan

We should have picked our own cotton...

I love my women hot and my beer ice cold..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2013, 03:19 PM
H80N's Avatar
H80N H80N is offline
That Man Behind The Curtain
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NE Pa
Posts: 5,180
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by moe1942 View Post
fluke..
+1....
__________________
.
.

Pay no attention to that man behind the curtain..


The more you Know, The Better you Know, How little you Know (old Estonian saying)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2013, 03:39 PM
rmack898's Avatar
rmack898 rmack898 is offline
That HURT!
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Honu Grove (NE Florida)
Posts: 4,037
Default

What they said. +1
__________________
Mac
___________________________________________
One extremely happy former convict of the penal colony that lies between NY, PA, and DE. Now living the good life much further south. where they don't know what fucking Carhartts are.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2013, 03:55 PM
Wolfram's Avatar
Wolfram Wolfram is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 562
Default

Thanks for the replies so far. Doing some research as we speak.

Right now, I'm considering either of two different Amprobe (owned by Fluke) models:

ACDC-100
or
ACDC-100 TRMS

Apparently the first one is an "averaging" ammeter and the second one is "true RMS" that uses "mean root square" or some such thing...the guy at Fluke said that it'll measure "what you've actually got" in case the wave form isn't a sine wave.



I asked him which he would get if he were me (just knowledgeable enough to be dangerous) and he said the TRMS version.

Do you folks agree/disagree?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2013, 05:22 PM
Samcord Samcord is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Peoria
Posts: 2,627
Default

I bought an Extech a few years ago. It's full featured and good for what I need. I'm not calibrating anything though.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-07-2013, 09:41 PM
Scotts's Avatar
Scotts Scotts is offline
Stuff, Just stuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 5,548
Default

fluke with the trms

I do have an extech as well it has proven as accurate as the fluke. I don't remember how I came to own it though.

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-07-2013, 09:49 PM
Wolfram's Avatar
Wolfram Wolfram is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 562
Default

Why is it so important to get a Fluke?

It's rare that you get so many people all saying to get a particular brand of ANYTHING...

They sure aren't bashful about their prices! Who makes them, Festool? (Woodworking machinery company not too bashful to charge something like $100 for a FLASHLIGHT.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-08-2013, 12:20 AM
Samcord Samcord is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Peoria
Posts: 2,627
Default

Have you ever looked at the Festool storage boxes? Really cool till you get to the price tag.

I have an old fluke also. It's not self contained. I have to plug it into my DMM. I also have one or two very old Amprobes -AC only. One is never enough, especially if you get a reading on one that just doesn't make sense, which is usually more of a misunderstanding than a wrong reading for an occasional user like me.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-08-2013, 02:13 PM
cramd's Avatar
cramd cramd is offline
Drivin' Fool
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yorkton, Saskatchewan,Canada
Posts: 4,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfram View Post
Why is it so important to get a Fluke?

It's rare that you get so many people all saying to get a particular brand of ANYTHING...

They sure aren't bashful about their prices! Who makes them, Festool? (Woodworking machinery company not too bashful to charge something like $100 for a FLASHLIGHT.)
One word..............quality.
They are not cheap, but they are good.
I had a Fluke multi-meter plus a clamp on AC/DC meter when I still drew a pay check, but don't recall the model number. They were used for taking readings from cathodic protection rectifiers.
__________________
Miller Thunderbolt XL AC/DC
Hobart Handler 190
Angle grinders,14" chop saw,Hobart medium duty O/A set
Some air tools,fair selection of hand tools,and other "stuff"
____________________________________________

The difference between genius and stupidity, is that genius has limits. Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.