Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Fabrication

SFT Search:   

Old 03-21-2019, 06:58 PM
Made From Scratch

Default Spur Building Jig

I have been tossing this idea around for about 10 years and made a few previous attempts that didn't work out, but I finally buckled down and built it.

From what I have seen most guys make a band, and then weld or solder the shank onto it. That works fine, but making the shanks is time consuming cutting slots, or forging them to shape and it creates a lot of labor not having a mill or something to do it with. I decided to try something different and make them by laminating 3 pieces of flat bar together using 2 halves and a spacer in the middle.

My method works out nicely for me, but bending the bands is always a real challenge. They don't want to bend as easily at the the base where they meet the shank and that is where the tightest curve takes place. Bending them over the horn of the anvil always leaves hammer marks to clean up, and it is difficult to make both spurs match exactly. So after starting to bend another set on the anvil this week and getting frustrated, I put them on hold and built this jig.

Its fairly self explanatory with the pics. After the parts are welded together, you spread the bands to 180 degrees, and drop it in the jig. The bar swings up into the rowel slot and you tighten it down, then using a torch and a hammer you work your way from the shank to the end, bending the band up against the jig. I made the bars for the clamp long enough that I can drill more holes and move them in and out to accommodate different length shanks as well.

The base of it is also set up to bend the little rods that hold the spur hangers on. Slide a piece of roundstock into the hole, bend it over and around the edge of the block, and then cut it off.