Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Fabrication

SFT Search:   

Old 03-14-2005, 01:57 PM

Default Tubing Strength

I'm thinking of building a lifting table to use in my barn and was trying to decide what I should build it out of. I'm a computer geek by trade, so I'm a bit late in coming over to the dirty side. :-)

The two main items I'm looking to lift with this table is my Honda CB750K motorcycle and my lawn tractor. I'd prefer to build it out of scrounged materials, but I also don't want to build something that will immediately fail on me. I'm hoping someone can point me towards a listing showing the strengths of various size steel tubing. Also, if it isn't self evident, how to read the table. I'm gonna be looking to figure out how much weight how far away from the pivot point the tubing can reasonably support before crumpling, deforming, etc.

I know I've seen some members say "Oh, well that should hold X pounds without a problem", but I'd feel safer if I could get my thoughts in the right ballpark so I don't gain my experience the hard way.

Thanks,
Popcorn Welder
Old 03-14-2005, 02:00 PM
GOD of Strawberries!!!

Quote:
I also don't want to build something that will immediately fail on me.
You dont want a lifting device to ever fail. You have any computer geeky drawings that would help? I am not a engineer by any means but I have seen a lot of thigs done by number crunchers fail (stuff from Sears are some great examples,, ha) Like a lot of guys here just from sheer experiece we can tell if it will work or not. I saw some gussets in a piece of log loading equipment fail a while back, no matter what the calculations said I would have added 50% due to the torsional stresses although I build lighter all the time in most cases. When we start out we are the masters of overkill.

Last edited by Sberry; 03-14-2005 at 02:10 PM.
Old 03-14-2005, 03:07 PM

Default Diagrams