Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Shop & Safety

SFT Search:   

Old 11-08-2012, 03:40 PM

Default Survey for welders and metalworkers

Hello everyone. I find it appropriate to post here since my post is related to safety. Admins, please forgive me if I may have violated a rule in any form but I just have survey questions on noise.

I am a student at Sacramento State University writing a research paper on Occupational Noise. I am trying to know if regardless of whether you are bothered by noise at your work, it may still affect your physical health in some manner. I'm sure a lot of you have personal experiences as welders and metal workers in your profession in regards to noise. Please kindly share.
I also understand this is a sensitive subject for some who despise HR for all its safety rules but I am not HR and just a student. I have five short questions and these are my questions:

please state your job as title: (E.g 'I am a welder')

1) How long have you been working in your line of work?
2) While working, do you have to shout to be heard by a coworker just 3 ft away from you or close to you?
3) Does occupational noise bother you?
4) Since you've started working, have you experienced any symptoms of hearing loss, like ringing in the ear, pain or been diagnosed with any sort of heart disease/hearing disorder by your physician?
5) At work, do you use any form of hearing protection when working to control noise?

Thank you very much for your response.

Last edited by studacc; 11-08-2012 at 06:03 PM.
Old 11-08-2012, 05:17 PM

OK, I'll play. I'm a hobby welder, but my exposure to noise has been similar to shop welding. Over 60 (closer to 70) and have tinnitus plus hearing difficulties. I can hear things that others don't, but if there's a lot of background noise such as in a restaurant, I can't hear shit.