Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Mechanical & Electrical

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-11-2019, 03:09 PM
greywynd's Avatar
greywynd greywynd is offline
I can dig it
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wainwright, Alberta
Posts: 4,614
Default

You could wire the old motor at 240V, and run a vfd.


Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-11-2019, 03:09 PM
toprecycler's Avatar
toprecycler toprecycler is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 3,702
Default

Ok, I will ask this question, if the original motor was a 2hp, 3 Phase motor, why did you replace it with a 6 hp 1 phase motor?


Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk
__________________
Brian

You don't know what you don't know.

"It's what you learn after you know it all that counts." John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-11-2019, 03:42 PM
Dallas B's Avatar
Dallas B Dallas B is offline
Duke of Rock
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boerne Texas
Posts: 3,071
Send a message via Yahoo to Dallas B
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toprecycler View Post
Ok, I will ask this question, if the original motor was a 2hp, 3 Phase motor, why did you replace it with a 6 hp 1 phase motor?


Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk
My shop does not have 3 ph wire.... and I got a very good deal on that 6hp 1 ph....well I thought I did
__________________
Dogs are nicer than people. Not only that, but dogs are smarter than horses. *Winner SFT Best Sig Line 2005* ( http://www.indierevoltmg.com/ )
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-11-2019, 03:48 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,724
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dallas B View Post
https://www.ebay.com/p/2-HP-SPL-3450...d=152632887140

Would this work? for a Band Saw? I think it is for a Air Compressor does it matter..the wheels on that band saw are very large and heavy
The "SPL" is a red flag to me, Special
at one time manufactures tried to trick people by rating motors as peek horse power and not continuous HP.
In other words starting peek horse power.

once they got busted they added SPL and what ever fine print that defines what is special. with out the fine print a 2hp motor may be a one horse power continuous.


Also the link states the rotation of the motor can "NOT" be changed so be sure what rotation you need before you buy.

I would consider HF just check their return policy if their motor does not cut it.
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-11-2019, 03:56 PM
Dallas B's Avatar
Dallas B Dallas B is offline
Duke of Rock
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boerne Texas
Posts: 3,071
Send a message via Yahoo to Dallas B
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greywynd View Post
You could wire the old motor at 240V, and run a vfd.


Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk mobile app
Do you have a schematic on how to wire up a VFD to that 3 ph .... might have to go that way. And I NEVER used a VFD or how it works, might be interesting to do.
__________________
Dogs are nicer than people. Not only that, but dogs are smarter than horses. *Winner SFT Best Sig Line 2005* ( http://www.indierevoltmg.com/ )
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-11-2019, 04:22 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 19,212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dallas B View Post
This is the OLD Motor that is a 3 ph
First of all the original motor was 2 Hp, why did you triple the size of
the motor??? You should have just got a 2 Hp single phase motor.

By doing that you have to replace all of the electrical wiring and controls,
and you might start breaking things mechanically putting that much power
in the to machine.

Hopefully you can return the 6 Hp motor and get a 2 Hp motor...
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-11-2019, 04:51 PM
Dallas B's Avatar
Dallas B Dallas B is offline
Duke of Rock
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boerne Texas
Posts: 3,071
Send a message via Yahoo to Dallas B
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade Tree Welder View Post
First of all the original motor was 2 Hp, why did you triple the size of
the motor??? You should have just got a 2 Hp single phase motor.

By doing that you have to replace all of the electrical wiring and controls,
and you might start breaking things mechanically putting that much power
in the to machine.

Hopefully you can return the 6 Hp motor and get a 2 Hp motor...
Yup...I am droping the 6 and looking for a 2 HP 3400 rpm 1 ph right now ... I did not think about all the HP in the 6 .... well I will have one on hand now.
__________________
Dogs are nicer than people. Not only that, but dogs are smarter than horses. *Winner SFT Best Sig Line 2005* ( http://www.indierevoltmg.com/ )
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-11-2019, 05:05 PM
digr's Avatar
digr digr is offline
The Real Deal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Duluth MN
Posts: 7,904
Default

I wouldn't be worried about a 3 HP especially for resawing.
__________________
Drawing by Smartdraw
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-12-2019, 10:40 AM
Scotts's Avatar
Scotts Scotts is offline
Stuff, Just stuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 5,071
Default

1st off, did you ever see this saw run and saw anything?

I would make sure it was not binding anywhere or have a bearing locked up. The saw should pull very low amps once it is up and running. Unless it has a gearbox you should be able to open the guard and turn it with very little effort on the top wheel with the blade on there.

Yes you would be able to break stuff with that motor if you pushed it up to the 6 hp load on it. If you are manually feeding the stock you should be able to tell when you are loading that thing up.

The other thing is the 6 hp motor has a 30 min duty cycle on it. It is thermally protected as well. If you stay well below the max amps you should be able to stretch out the length of run time there.

I see the motor is rated at 25 amps. that is a 10 gauge wire and 30 amp breaker, unless you are 100 feet or more away.

On your electrical parts, contactors, overloads and such will have to be sized correctly to handle max load, others have pointed this out so I wont.

Do you have a clamp on amp meter? This will give you an indication of what kind of health the machine is in.

If the machine is designed to be run on a 2 hp motor the 6 hp should only use a small portion of total load to run the saw unless you bog it down.

If all these electrical burn up parts are happening without sawing anything I would say you have a mechanical bind in the saw or something is not wired correctly. If the overload is the one for the 3 phase motor it is likely low for the single phase motor so it will open up.

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-12-2019, 06:20 PM
Dallas B's Avatar
Dallas B Dallas B is offline
Duke of Rock
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boerne Texas
Posts: 3,071
Send a message via Yahoo to Dallas B
Default

Thanks Scott... I had this 6 hp motor on for a while and Ran it and resaw wood about 2 hrs, turned it off and when I started it up again it shut off with in about 30 sec .... and the 2 pully are free put 2 new tires on it .... its odd how it worked for sever hrs? ... Going to get a 2hp and the right relay now, I am so far behind right now. thanks
__________________
Dogs are nicer than people. Not only that, but dogs are smarter than horses. *Winner SFT Best Sig Line 2005* ( http://www.indierevoltmg.com/ )
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.