Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2015, 06:11 AM
Cavalry's Avatar
Cavalry Cavalry is offline
Below Wholesale
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Evil Empire State
Posts: 9,034
Default New Plasma

Early Christmas present to myself Powermax 65...now I have a reason to finish up my CNC table!

I knew it before I opened the box but I am a little annoyed it only comes with a 3Ø cord with no plug and no single phase whip. Another $100 for that....Would it have killed them to put a twist lock on the end and give you a cool 6-50 adapter like others do?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	powermax.jpg
Views:	194
Size:	95.9 KB
ID:	127837  
__________________
Director of Cryptography-Upstate NY Division
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2015, 04:10 PM
Bender's Avatar
Bender Bender is offline
One Lone Sub
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nampa, ID
Posts: 5,065
Default

Sexy!
My Hypertherm 600 has been flawless.
Unless you count the time I dropped a 10 pound piece of angle iron on the torch
__________________
Boise Paint Contractor
Facebook
How fortunate we are!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2015, 06:26 PM
digger doug's Avatar
digger doug digger doug is offline
Not to be used as a Flotation Device
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Pa
Posts: 12,755
Default

I would have thought there would have been a waiting period......
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2015, 10:36 AM
jimcolt jimcolt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 116
Default

The Powermax65 will operate on any voltage between 200 and 600 volts, single or three phase power. Because of all of the available voltages......there could be as many as 30 different plugs required in order to meet electrical codes worldwide. For this reason, there is a power cord supplied that you can install the correct plug for your shop. If you are using it on single phase, simply clip off the red lead and use the Black and white as hot leads and the green as the safety ground......no need to replace the cord with another. The instructions for doing this are in the operators manual......or you can call tech service or contact me at any time with questions. Thanks for buying the Powermax65 from all the employee owners at Hypertherm!
Jim Colt jim.colt@hypertherm.com




Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavalry View Post
Early Christmas present to myself Powermax 65...now I have a reason to finish up my CNC table!

I knew it before I opened the box but I am a little annoyed it only comes with a 3Ø cord with no plug and no single phase whip. Another $100 for that....Would it have killed them to put a twist lock on the end and give you a cool 6-50 adapter like others do?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2015, 11:07 AM
Cavalry's Avatar
Cavalry Cavalry is offline
Below Wholesale
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Evil Empire State
Posts: 9,034
Default

Hey Jim, I forgot you were on here.

Dont take my comments as too harshly, I understand why you configured it in that manner. Even though I have 3Ø available I chose to go single because no matter where I go there is a likelihood that I can plug it in and go. I feel as though a lot of guys running this size of machines are doing the same thing.
I fired it up for the first time today and very happy with the test cuts I made.

I don't suppose you would want to send me a cover in exchange for a in depth review here?
__________________
Director of Cryptography-Upstate NY Division
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.