Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Machining

SFT Search:   

Old 04-18-2011, 08:07 PM

Default How to remove 40ft shipping containers...

Hi, everyone! First time, here, and I'm hoping for some advice. I'm a teacher in Japan, and one of the beaches near me is now filled with smashed up 40ft shipping containers as a result of the tsunami. The area relies pretty heavily on tourism in the summers, but, obviously, with these containers sitting everywhere, that's not likely to happen. I've had some experience using an acetylene torch, so I'm wondering if any of you have advice about cutting one (or 30...) of these things apart. The metal is surprisingly thin (less than 2 millimeters), but there's a lot of it, and the pieces we cut it into would have to be small enough to be pulled out onto a road by truck, so that's a lot of cutting. Add to that the fact that some of these are in water (or just wet, depending on the tides), and it seems like it might be a bad idea...

Any advice/experience? You can tell people that you aided the humanitarian work in Japan!

Here's a link to the beach in question, with containers (and tsunami damage) clearly visible: http://maps.google.com/?ie=UTF8&hq=&...10493&t=h&z=17
Old 04-18-2011, 08:24 PM
Connoisseur of Old Iron

First
Welcome to SFT!
Second, you need to make sure that the owners of the containers have forfeited any claim on the containers or get an order from the local government to allow you to remove them.
Now O/A torches will cut them down to size, but a gas powered Demo saw would be a better choice for cutting the side walls and roof out of them.
Good luck and be careful.
Dan.
Miller 10-E Wire Feeder
Miller Spectrum 2050 Plasma Cutter
Hobart AC/DC stick welder
Hobart 175 Mig
Craftsman O/A set
Turbo torch and B-tank
Old 04-18-2011, 08:29 PM
The Enforcer