Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Fabrication

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-06-2006, 10:39 PM
randydupree's Avatar
randydupree randydupree is offline
Why, Hell Yes!
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bainbridge Ga
Posts: 6,219
Default spool

think about this,use a big bucket to store the hose,and make a hand winder to put it in the bucket, a hand crank with a big pulley on the crank,kind of like a fan belt pulley,but the problem is to get it to wind the cable into the bucket the same way everytime,and the way to do that is to make the pulley/sheave sides different angles,instead of each side being the same angle,say its 60 degrees,make one side 60 degrees and the other side 75 degrees,it will wind the cord into a circle everytime,the more the degree differance,the tighter the circle of cord.
Just mount the winder onto the side of the bucket/box or whatever.no need to unplug the male end either.
It could look kinda like a boat winch,you could even use a boat winch so you have 2 speeds and a latch,you just need to make a sheave for it.
Randy
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-06-2006, 11:36 PM
Bolt Bolt is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,267
Default

Well I had to go out there anyways, so I snapped some more pics of my various reel setups. In the future I plan on spinning the common shaft they are mounted on and grabbing onto it with a pin through the reels, as you can see.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC03611 (Medium).JPG
Views:	549
Size:	82.4 KB
ID:	17256   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC03612 (Medium).JPG
Views:	504
Size:	61.0 KB
ID:	17257   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC03613 (Medium).JPG
Views:	468
Size:	37.6 KB
ID:	17258   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC03615 (Medium).JPG
Views:	477
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	17259   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC03616 (Medium).JPG
Views:	502
Size:	101.1 KB
ID:	17260  

Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-06-2006, 11:37 PM
Bolt Bolt is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,267
Default

These other 2 are my temporary setup, with the welding leads. The quick connect goes out the axle of 1 inch inside of 1 1/4 pipe.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC03607 (Medium).JPG
Views:	547
Size:	65.5 KB
ID:	17261   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC03608 (Medium).JPG
Views:	489
Size:	84.1 KB
ID:	17262  
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-07-2006, 12:10 AM
Tom Zachman's Avatar
Tom Zachman Tom Zachman is offline
Dodge City Marshal
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dodge City Kansas
Posts: 7,921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by digr
I see I knew about pi X dia = cir. but I am lost in the magnetic waves so If I build one 16" it will be.
16" would be about right for most cable.

On Inductance: all current generates a magnetic wave when travelling through wires. Alternating current generates an alternating magnetic wave... 60 times per second here in the USA. If the wire is laid out straight then no ill effect occurs.

When the wire is coiled onto itself those waves cross the neighboring wires and "induce" electro-magnetic forces into the stew... The generator wants the electrons to go one way and the resultant magnetic forces can induce the electrons to go another way.

This picture isn't exactly correct but at 11 oclock it's the best I could find. Notice the red line... the current flow is struggling to .... flow.



You would really want it to look like this:



Source: http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_2/chpt_9/1.html
__________________
New sig line:

Quote:
Knock, knock. Anyone home? Anyone there? Barack Obama exists only as the sock puppet of his handlers, of the people who have maneuvered and manufactured this pathetic individual’s life.
http://factsnotfantasy.blogspot.com/...ieve-life.html
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-07-2006, 12:28 AM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,113
Default

Inductance should not pose any problems in an extension cord. because you have the two wires in close proximity to each other in the same sheath, they cancel the magnetic effect.
One wire the field is moving in one direction. the opposite wire the field is moving in the opposite direction.
In theory they cancel each others fields out in an extension cord.

It would be a different story if it was a single wire wrapped around an iron core.

If you ever used an Amp-clamp. you need to clamp it around a single wire. if you clamp it around the two wires they cancel and you don't get a reading.
________

The only issue may-maybe the concentrated heat of the cord wrapped around its self.
That has to do with the size of wire your using (resistance) and the amount of amps your pulling.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-07-2006, 07:56 AM
Tom Zachman's Avatar
Tom Zachman Tom Zachman is offline
Dodge City Marshal
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dodge City Kansas
Posts: 7,921
Default

The easiest way to experience this is to get a 110V welder and a decent extension cord. Try welding at max current with the cord tightly coiled around a steel core and then with it uncoiled.
__________________
New sig line:

Quote:
Knock, knock. Anyone home? Anyone there? Barack Obama exists only as the sock puppet of his handlers, of the people who have maneuvered and manufactured this pathetic individual’s life.
http://factsnotfantasy.blogspot.com/...ieve-life.html
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-08-2006, 07:23 AM
digr's Avatar
digr digr is offline
The Real Deal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Duluth MN
Posts: 8,564
Default

After looking at b-footns land bolts posts these would also work for welding lead cables.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	reel1.jpg
Views:	454
Size:	60.0 KB
ID:	17295  
__________________
Drawing by Smartdraw
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-08-2006, 07:27 AM
digr's Avatar
digr digr is offline
The Real Deal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Duluth MN
Posts: 8,564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bolt
Well I had to go out there anyways, so I snapped some more pics of my various reel setups. In the future I plan on spinning the common shaft they are mounted on and grabbing onto it with a pin through the reels, as you can see.
Nice looking reels Thanks for posting. They must serve you well.
__________________
Drawing by Smartdraw
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-09-2006, 04:04 AM
fun_4_now's Avatar
fun_4_now fun_4_now is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: geneseo NY.
Posts: 218
Default

i used to brade my 100ft extentions when i was building houses, folded them in 1/2 first to end up with nice sized rope to hang and they unbraided quickly and without any tangels. never even thought about a reel as i had too many and they all went in diferent directions so leaving then on the reel would not have worked too well, but back when i was wireing houses we used a reel that clamped to a stud to reel out the romex, worked good going out but not so good going in but i supose it could have been modified easily enough, some thing similer to the reels they use at hardware stoors when they cut you wire would be nice it would let you wind up fast then take the role off and stoer it will you wound another it would also save on space, as you would only have the role of wire to store not the hole reel for each cord.

where did you get the smart draw program ?? was it expensive?? the drawings look realy good, i always just scratch some thing out with paint that came with windows, but it would be realy nice to have some thing more like smart draw.
__________________
James
i like the new :evil:
MM135
spec125
TA-185
Victor O/A setup
Miller BWE hood
saving for MM210, Spectrum 375, .............
feel free to PM or e-mail me directly metalart@peoplepc.com , i have lots of time to chat.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-09-2006, 01:27 PM
jksweld's Avatar
jksweld jksweld is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clay WV
Posts: 654
Default

I was just thinking of the inductance that y'all are talking about. I dont know about mine power cable as far as the thickness of the sheith but on our Atlas Copco rock face drill theres a big spool about 5' tall and 2' wide thats mounted on the back of the drill for the power cable that is about 2" diamater and I think theres about 300-400 feet on it and works the whole drill and it has 2300 volts gone through it and they never unwrap the whole cable when they drill, sometimes they only have about 60' foot off the reel.

And another example would be on a shuttle car (for those of you framilar with the coal industry) it has the same type deal with 2300 gone through it and it reels and unreels all the time with the movement of the shuttle car

this is just some things that I though of that have a lot more than 220 gone through them and are not fully unwraped when working, but Iam not an electriction so maybe theres something Iam missing

James
__________________
When the weldin' hood drops the Bulls**t stops

SAGO MINE TRAGEDY
WE WILL NEVER FORGET
1-2-06
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.