Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Mechanical & Electrical

 
 
SFT Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old 04-14-2024, 12:51 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 23,096
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gimpyrobb View Post
Duke installed my power pole today! Now I need to look into renting a trencher and some power cable. Do I need to run conduit from point to point or do I just use conduit where it enters/leaves the ground?
Looks like you already decided. I did mine back in 1996, It was about a 70 foot
run. 100A to the barn from the shop. My shop has it own 400 amp service and
meter. I ran copper wire in PVC conduit. I liked the ideal of conduit for a little
extra protection and I had some tree roots that could pose an issue.

My electrician also recommend putting in larger than needed conduit in case I
ever wanted to up service to 200 amp.

Back in 96 it was all to codes.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 04-14-2024, 05:57 PM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 2,414
Default

I went with 2.5 inch conduit. I was told 2" but wanted it a little easier to pull through and its the largest my meter base will take. I still need to buy a couple sticks(estimated), but I think I'll get them once I get the garage run finished.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 04-14-2024, 09:36 PM
OldRedFord's Avatar
OldRedFord OldRedFord is offline
Kibble King
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hull GA
Posts: 4,778
Send a message via AIM to OldRedFord Send a message via Yahoo to OldRedFord
Default

I'm late to the party. But happy with my Square D QO main panels and 400 amp service.
__________________
Tim
Self appointed director of junk, and old vehicles.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 04-15-2024, 12:04 AM
Norcal Norcal is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,968
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldRedFord View Post
I'm late to the party. But happy with my Square D QO main panels and 400 amp service.
SQ D QO, & QOB (bolt-on) breakers have been around a long time and will continue to be supported, which is my biggest fear about Leviton that they won't be, like T&B panels & their UL classified breakers, SQ D Trillaint, the T&B, breakers were UL classified to be used in most competitive makes of panels, then they disappeared.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 04-26-2024, 07:56 PM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 2,414
Default

Busy day today. Started trenching to put conduit in.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20240426_175824.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	168.9 KB
ID:	170696   Click image for larger version

Name:	20240426_180046.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	202.1 KB
ID:	170697   Click image for larger version

Name:	20240426_194602.jpg
Views:	158
Size:	166.4 KB
ID:	170698   Click image for larger version

Name:	20240426_175838.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	170.2 KB
ID:	170699  

Last edited by GWIZ; 04-26-2024 at 11:10 PM. Reason: Rotate picture
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 04-28-2024, 07:27 PM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 2,414
Default

So I have the conduit from the pole to the garage in the ground and bolted to the pole. I need to mount the meter box the the garage, but the outside siding is that brittle asbestos tile/ hardy board. I'm probably going to put a bunch of 2x4s and 2x6s on the inside of the garage and just drill pilot holes to mount everything with. I'll keep it wet to make sure I don't stir up any dust. Then I'll mount my panel on the inside. AM I aloud to have the panel back to back with the meter box? Yes I will be asking the inspector but I figured I'd see what y'all have to say first. ITS COMING TOGETHER!
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 04-29-2024, 08:47 PM
slip knot slip knot is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Texas gulf coast
Posts: 1,107
Default

I dont believe you can mount the meter can and breaker box back to back. I'm working on replacing my meter loop and the electric co-ops design criteria plainly states the meter can and the disconnect cant be back to back.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 04-30-2024, 01:08 PM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 2,414
Default

They are not directly back to back, whatever the depth of the stud is. The inspector that was out today said he didn't care if I went out the back of the meter and into the panel so it may be a county thing. I need to look it over and see what will be easier in my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 05-10-2024, 08:04 PM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 2,414
Default

This project has really kicked my ass!

So I currently have power to the new meter and panel in the garage. I have power to the house removed so I can put in the new meter box and panel. Duke took forever to come out and disconnect the house but they did it today. I'm running on a 30a circuit ran from the garage.
Hope to have my inspection Monday and power restored Tuesday. What a shit show!

Some random pics...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20240510_095516.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	176.8 KB
ID:	170795   Click image for larger version

Name:	20240507_183647.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	175.7 KB
ID:	170796   Click image for larger version

Name:	20240506_193619.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	199.6 KB
ID:	170797   Click image for larger version

Name:	20240506_193939.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	176.3 KB
ID:	170798   Click image for larger version

Name:	20240508_180256.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	172.6 KB
ID:	170799  


Last edited by GWIZ; 05-10-2024 at 10:44 PM. Reason: Rotate picture
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 05-13-2024, 06:36 PM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 2,414
Default

Well I've got power to the garage and the house! The final inspection is complete for the garage, I still need to hook up a couple things for the house.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.