Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Machining

SFT Search:   

Old 10-19-2012, 09:43 AM

Default Does this lathe look worth $600 ?

I'm a complete novice when it comes to lathes but I've wanted to get one for a long time.

Today I saw one on craigslist, a 9" x 45" Atlas for $600.

While I research on the Internet what I should inspect when buying a used lathe, can anyone advise me on whether this lathe (assuming it's in decent condition) would be worth $600 ?

http://norfolk.craigslist.org/tls/3349657477.html

Or should I just avoid buying a used lathe altogether, because there's too much possibility for a newbie to get burned?

Thanks for any help.
Old 10-19-2012, 09:48 AM

Up here in northern Virginia that's a fine price. It has the change gears, looks to be well cared for and has a couple add ons. I shopped for a full year to get my south bend 9 with a quick change gear box and finally paid 600 without any rests or tool holder. But, she was a little used baby, she had her issues but nothing silly. I see this is down south so you'd have to go inspect and look for wear but up here I have seen that price before.
Old 10-19-2012, 10:13 AM
Voice of Experience

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfram View Post
I'm a complete novice when it comes to lathes but I've wanted to get one for a long time.

Today I saw one on craigslist, a 9" x 45" Atlas for $600.

While I research on the Internet what I should inspect when buying a used lathe, can anyone advise me on whether this lathe (assuming it's in decent condition) would be worth $600 ?

http://norfolk.craigslist.org/tls/3349657477.html

Or should I just avoid buying a used lathe altogether, because there's too much possibility for a newbie to get burned?

Thanks for any help.

A few points...that is the asking price so you can get it cheaper..Change gears are a pain in the ass..it is considered a very light duty lathe..

Here's the ball...catch..