Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Machining

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old 12-14-2021, 08:53 PM
toprecycler's Avatar
toprecycler toprecycler is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 6,353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldRedFord View Post
Quill is about three bannans in diameter.

You bought CEE swag! Lol.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Brian

You don't know what you don't know.

"It's what you learn after you know it all that counts." John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 12-15-2021, 05:55 AM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldRedFord View Post
Edit

The big end of the taper in the spindle measures 1.345 inches. In the PDF GWIZ posted the measurement should be 1.310
I don't think its me. tell us what MT # and check your numbers again.
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 12-15-2021, 06:18 AM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,452
Default

Thinking out loud ......
One option maybe a MT3 socket (or whatever they call them) with a straight shank.
plug welded in.

what I'm not sure is how hard the surface needs to be I'm thinking case hard.
so if you make a new spindle it will likely need to be hardened.

some of these sockets maybe hardened but it maybe hit or miss.

on the other hand if your old spindle ID is hard lathe tools may not cut it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MT3 ST.JPG
Views:	45
Size:	126.9 KB
ID:	162872  
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis

Last edited by GWIZ; 12-15-2021 at 06:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 12-15-2021, 06:52 AM
toprecycler's Avatar
toprecycler toprecycler is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 6,353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldRedFord View Post
The chuck is a Jacobs 18N. I now have two of those in my tool cabinet.

Things have spun in the spindle a time or two. The chips are from when I drilled the back of the tang off.

Edit

The big end of the taper in the spindle measures 1.345 inches. In the PDF GWIZ posted the measurement should be 1.310

I’m confused. There is no 1.310 on the Morse taper chart. Was it 1.2310 that you was measuring for MT#4?

Missed the 2? Probably phone keyboard error?Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0136.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	194.3 KB
ID:	162873


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Brian

You don't know what you don't know.

"It's what you learn after you know it all that counts." John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 12-16-2021, 10:05 PM
OldRedFord's Avatar
OldRedFord OldRedFord is offline
Kibble King
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hull GA
Posts: 4,564
Send a message via AIM to OldRedFord Send a message via Yahoo to OldRedFord
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toprecycler View Post
I’m confused. There is no 1.310 on the Morse taper chart. Was it 1.2310 that you was measuring for MT#4?

Missed the 2? Probably phone keyboard error?Attachment 162873


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
1.2345 inches.

No case hardening on the spindle. Both the socket and outer surface cut easily with a file.
__________________
Tim
Self appointed director of junk, and old vehicles.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 12-18-2021, 12:18 PM
greywynd's Avatar
greywynd greywynd is offline
I can dig it
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wainwright, Alberta
Posts: 6,384
Default

Chart shows dimension ‘A’ as 1.231”.

What’s the outside diameter of the section with the morse taper in it?

I’d be tempted to bore it out, then press in a ‘socket’ with a #3 or #4 taper in it. It would be cheap enough to buy and cut up a socket to use, avoids having to remake the entire piece, and will keep you reasonable ‘stock’ if that’s what you’re after.

Heck if you cut the socket off just at the slot for the drift your bore wouldn’t be as deep, and you won’t even have to line that up with the original when you press it in.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 12-18-2021, 07:52 PM
OldRedFord's Avatar
OldRedFord OldRedFord is offline
Kibble King
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hull GA
Posts: 4,564
Send a message via AIM to OldRedFord Send a message via Yahoo to OldRedFord
Default

Been a full day on the road today.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1218211327_HDR.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	199.7 KB
ID:	162957   Click image for larger version

Name:	1218211643_HDR.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	197.8 KB
ID:	162958  
__________________
Tim
Self appointed director of junk, and old vehicles.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 12-18-2021, 08:33 PM
toprecycler's Avatar
toprecycler toprecycler is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 6,353
Default

So where is the drilling head for that big radial arm drill press. I have one about that size at work. I think I’ve used it 8 times in the last four years.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Brian

You don't know what you don't know.

"It's what you learn after you know it all that counts." John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 12-18-2021, 09:39 PM
OldRedFord's Avatar
OldRedFord OldRedFord is offline
Kibble King
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hull GA
Posts: 4,564
Send a message via AIM to OldRedFord Send a message via Yahoo to OldRedFord
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toprecycler View Post
So where is the drilling head for that big radial arm drill press. I have one about that size at work. I think I’ve used it 8 times in the last four years.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sitting on the floor of my shop. Along with other parts to the radial. Should be under the 4700 lb limit of my forklift.
__________________
Tim
Self appointed director of junk, and old vehicles.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 12-19-2021, 04:49 PM
OldRedFord's Avatar
OldRedFord OldRedFord is offline
Kibble King
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hull GA
Posts: 4,564
Send a message via AIM to OldRedFord Send a message via Yahoo to OldRedFord
Default

Machines unloaded and safely on the ground.
__________________
Tim
Self appointed director of junk, and old vehicles.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.