Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Shop & Safety

SFT Search:   

Old 09-02-2019, 01:20 PM

Default Updating My Air Fittings

Some of my old quick connect fittings are pretty worn out and are pissing air. I'm replacing some of my air hoses also. I have been using the M/Industrial style for 50 years. I'm looking at the Milton v series of air fittings. I use 1/4, 3/8, and 1/2 inch industrial now and am thinking that I should update to the V series for my 1/4 inch connections. It looks like they flow more air than the 3/8 industrial fittings.
Anyone have experience with these? Do you think the V series would hold up as well as the 3/8 Industrial?

Big Blue 500 CC/CV
CST 280
Hypertherm 1650
Suitcase 12RC
24A Feeder
Thermal Arc 160S
Old 09-02-2019, 06:18 PM
Gadget Girl

I have some of the V model fittings that came standard for my Vzilla air tool and hose combo.

problem is they are not backward compatible. So, I can not install 20 of them for any decent money. (new purchase).

The kit I purchased came with the tool, hose and fittings and if it were a stand-alone type of deal or just got into air tools, then it would be ok as they are basically and upsized fitting with a smaller thread size.

If I defend myself I am attacked.

My meaningless thoughts are showing me a meaningless world.

My attack thoughts are attacking my invulnerability.

I'd like to think of something smart, but I don't want to hurt myself.

My google+ page

DoALL 36"
Another Johnson model J Project
Lathe? Maybe..... 1958 SBL 13"
Yeti Esseti Aka running welder on 3phase.
Old 09-02-2019, 06:46 PM
Boiler God

I’m in the process of changing from 1/4” Milton type A to 3/8” Amflo/TruFlate type G, quick connect air fittings. I looked at the Milton V series, high flow but they are notorious for leaking, so I went with the G style.
Old 09-02-2019, 08:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by platypus20 View Post