Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Machining

 
 
SFT Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2024, 02:39 AM
Hoggo Hoggo is offline
Yobbo
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: The universe
Posts: 45
Default Tool holder epiphany.

I made several tool holders for my lathe about 12 years ago, four tangentials and three standard type holders with various rakes. They work well but need shims to adjust the height and won't take HSS blanks that are too long. So today I made a couple of new holders.

The new tool holders are about as simple as you can get, just a short length of 16mm square black bar finished and with a slot cut the full length of the holder. No need to clamp the bit in place on the holder as the tool post does that.

Simple to use just stick the holder in the tool post, insert the bit, adjust how much stick out you want and tighten the tool post bolts. The tool post bolts locate in the middle of the holder, thus the tool post bolts also lock the tool bit in place.

I've made them so the bit is dead centre, so no more shims to adjust the height.

I made two: One for 6mm bits the other for 1/4" bits. Later I'll probably make one for 8mm bits.

It doesn't get any simpler than this and they work well.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WIN_20240613_16_23_36_Pro.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	128.4 KB
ID:	171115   Click image for larger version

Name:	WIN_20240613_16_23_23_Pro.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	199.7 KB
ID:	171116  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2024, 11:29 AM
arizonian's Avatar
arizonian arizonian is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 2,337
Default

Might have to copy that idea. Need a pic of the tool post and holder in action. What tool post are you using?
__________________
Bill in sunny Tucson

I believe in gun control.

Gun Control: The ability to consistently hit what you are aiming at.

Weldor by choice, engineer by necessity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2024, 05:50 PM
Hoggo Hoggo is offline
Yobbo
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: The universe
Posts: 45
Default

the one that came with the lathe. As long as the tool post has two bolts,,it'll work
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2024, 06:10 PM
arizonian's Avatar
arizonian arizonian is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 2,337
Default

No pics?
__________________
Bill in sunny Tucson

I believe in gun control.

Gun Control: The ability to consistently hit what you are aiming at.

Weldor by choice, engineer by necessity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.