Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Mechanical & Electrical

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2020, 04:37 PM
tnfarmboy tnfarmboy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: SE Tennessee
Posts: 5
Default Tired old welder

I have a very old P&H Welder. It has served me well for several years. I have noticed for a while now that it has been getting weaker. I haven’t used it in a while. Today I needed it and it was hard to keep a 3/32 6013 lit. That’s with it turned up all the way on AC, should be 480 AMPS, maybe not with 220V, but still... I tried DC+ & DC-, same or worse. A few years ago I could write my name in cursive with that same rod on DC- with the juice way lower. I’m running it on 220V.

I would guess it’s just junk now that’s not worth trying to fix. Could it be something relatively cheap and easy?

Thanks,
DD
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	welder.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	207.8 KB
ID:	154127  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2020, 05:31 PM
dubby's Avatar
dubby dubby is offline
Twice the size--half the man
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 9,583
Default

Welcome to SFT tnfarmboy!

I love the old welders, though I have little experience with them. One thing I'd suggest is pulling the cover off and giving it a look-through. Might be something as simple as a dirty or corroded connection that's readily obvious. I have an old Craftsman ac/dc rig that the dirt dobbers LOVE to build nests in. Fire ants also love the taste of the old insulation. Occasionally it'll just stop working for no reason and a little bit of cleaning will get it back up to speed in no time.

I'm not familiar with that model, but someone else may come along and have a lot more information for you.
__________________
I've always had more time than money.

Wade's Custom Kydex
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2020, 06:16 PM
digr's Avatar
digr digr is offline
The Real Deal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Duluth MN
Posts: 8,544
Default

Welcome!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	welder1.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	192.3 KB
ID:	154136  
__________________
Drawing by Smartdraw
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2020, 06:22 PM
astronut's Avatar
astronut astronut is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,222
Default

Welcome to the forum! Sorry but I have no answers that help you with that machine.
__________________
I love the smell of napalm in the morning. It smells like, victory!
Rommel, you magnificent bastard, I read your book!

Victor Torch Set With Meco Regs
Lincoln Weld Pak 100
Giant Tech Arc 200
Miller Roughneck2E
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2020, 07:30 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tnfarmboy View Post
I’m running it on 220V.

I would guess it’s just junk now that’s not worth trying to fix. Could it be something relatively cheap and easy?

Thanks,
DD
Welcome to the Site.

First,
I thought P&H welders were suppose to be Yellow.

I would Likely guess a cheap fix, but really need to see whats inside.
I would guess the reactor is not getting its full DC supply voltage.
As stated above a bad connection.
I would first check the brush on the rheostat (assuming it is that old).

may find a drawing glued to one of its inside panels. that would help.
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-18-2020, 10:24 PM
tnfarmboy tnfarmboy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: SE Tennessee
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the replies and welcome. I will definitely pull the cover and check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-18-2020, 11:45 PM
toprecycler's Avatar
toprecycler toprecycler is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 4,884
Default

First off, check your cable connections. Make sure they seem tight, and not loose or corroded.

If you have an ohm Meter, check continuity thru the welding leads.

If that seems to be good, then start taking covers off. Don’t scrap it yet. It is worth looking further for the problem.



Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk
__________________
Brian

You don't know what you don't know.

"It's what you learn after you know it all that counts." John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-19-2020, 03:40 AM
LKeithR's Avatar
LKeithR LKeithR is offline
Hey...wait...is there a prize?
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Langley, B.C.
Posts: 5,299
Default

As others have said, pull off the cover and make sure everything inside is squeaky clean. Blow out all the dirt and take some fine emery cloth to every metal to metal contact point. If you're not getting full power because of loose or poor connections you may see signs of arcing--pay particular attention to the rheostat...
__________________
Keith

Measure twice and cut once...or...wait, was that the other way around?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-26-2020, 11:34 AM
digger doug's Avatar
digger doug digger doug is offline
Not to be used as a Flotation Device
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Pa
Posts: 12,696
Default

That may be one that "chokes" the current with the small rheostat.

If so, there will be some selenium rectifiers (any smoke come out lately ?)
providing d.c. to that rheostat circuit.

Also, is there a "local/remote" switch ?

It's apparent that the current control is not working.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.