Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Shop & Safety

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2019, 06:43 AM
tnmike's Avatar
tnmike tnmike is offline
Sultan of Scrounge
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NE TN
Posts: 3,951
Default New shop

It's taken a long time to finally get here but things are finally coming together. 30x40, 12 ft walls, 12 ft roll up door and a 6 inch concrete slab. I'm doing a minimal wiring job this week and then my tools start moving in.

The old corn crib to the right will become my new blacksmith shop. It needs some structural reinforcement but it's got a lot of character.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20191018_144608.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	199.9 KB
ID:	152710  
__________________
Buy it cheap and stack it deep
Klaatu barada nikto

Last edited by tnmike; 10-27-2019 at 06:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2019, 07:19 AM
digr's Avatar
digr digr is offline
The Real Deal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Duluth MN
Posts: 8,349
Default

Good for you!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Drawing by Smartdraw
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2019, 07:38 AM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 14,276
Default

Is going to feel good to get your tools in.
Word of warning, through. I heard the term 'minimal wiring.' I did the same in 2009 and I am still running extension cords across the floor to power the plasma and such. There is always something to do and finishing gets put aside.
__________________
Gerry
You got freedom of speech, if you don't say too much.
Aaron Neville.

The virtue is always a cover for the sin. That's the key to understanding the modern left. Whatever they're accusing you of doing, they are doing themselves but more enthusiastically. And that's definitely the story of Justin Trudeau. Tucker Carlson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2019, 08:17 AM
tnmike's Avatar
tnmike tnmike is offline
Sultan of Scrounge
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NE TN
Posts: 3,951
Default

One light switched at the man door and one gfci outlet. That is the NEC minimum. The main reason is to get the inspector out of my business.
__________________
Buy it cheap and stack it deep
Klaatu barada nikto
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-27-2019, 09:39 AM
milomilo's Avatar
milomilo milomilo is offline
Auction Addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wheatland, Wyoming
Posts: 15,781
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tnmike View Post
One light switched at the man door and one gfci outlet. That is the NEC minimum. The main reason is to get the inspector out of my business.
__________________
Chris

Liberty has never come from Government. Liberty has always come from the subjects of it. The history of liberty is a history of limitations of governmental power, not the increase of it.
Woodrow Wilson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-27-2019, 11:36 AM
tnmike's Avatar
tnmike tnmike is offline
Sultan of Scrounge
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NE TN
Posts: 3,951
Default

I was talking to a local electrician here the other day. A normal new house requires around $7,000 in material to wire. That figure does not include labor. I have a degree in electrical engineering and have not taken an NEC code class in some time. I don't keep up with it and don't want to. That being said, some of the changes are just stupid. It's no wonder it costs so much. I won't get into arc fault breakers but will discuss this. All switches now require a neutral be run to them whether it is used or not. If it's a single pole switch you cannot run a 12/2 romex cable to it and mark the white wire black. A 12/3 must be run and the neutral terminated in a wire nut to accommodate future automatic switches. Another idiotic change is gfcI outlet's in garages even overhead outlets that cannot be reached. Ie garage door opener or plug in shop lights. It's changes like this that are driving the cost up. Its regulation run amok.

And my final opinion for the day is: I will never put a freezer on a gfci outlet. I don't care where it is. Too many breakers and outlets are made in China and are prone to nuisance tripping. The power quality of my REA is beyond terrible and contributes to the problem. Take that for what's it's worth. I have learned the hard way
__________________
Buy it cheap and stack it deep
Klaatu barada nikto

Last edited by tnmike; 10-27-2019 at 11:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-27-2019, 12:12 PM
greywynd's Avatar
greywynd greywynd is offline
I can dig it
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wainwright, Alberta
Posts: 4,977
Default

We had a power outage here the other night for about an hour during a windstorm. When it came back on, we were short one bathroom light, and one bedroom light. The GFI outlet in the OTHER bathroom had tripped and needed to be reset. Go figure.


Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-27-2019, 01:07 PM
tnmike's Avatar
tnmike tnmike is offline
Sultan of Scrounge
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NE TN
Posts: 3,951
Default

It takes 5 ma of current to trip a gfci outlet. The REA here has so many loose and missing neutrals it's amazing. Guess where some of that return current goes? They left a span of primary distribution neutral that had broken lay on the ground six spans above my house for a year.

It may work in a perfect world but in an imperfect world it may not. I am not going to risk a freezer full of beef to find out.
__________________
Buy it cheap and stack it deep
Klaatu barada nikto
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-28-2019, 07:46 AM
RonL's Avatar
RonL RonL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 52
Default

Nice shop!
The problem is that with open space everyone has something that needs to be put somewhere. Soon, you're tripping over "stuff".
It is nice to have a place to work.
__________________
RonL

Big Blue 500 CC/CV
CST 280
Hypertherm 1650
Suitcase 12RC
24A Feeder
Thermal Arc 160S
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.