Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Machining

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2022, 09:43 PM
clive's Avatar
clive clive is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,115
Default digital reader

The DRO on my lathe is not reading correctly, out by about .002” in a infeed of .020”. I suspect it needs a good clean but I have no idea what is inside it.Turning it upside down there is a cover in two halves that the reader fits between but I am reluctant to take the ends off to completely dismantle it till I know what is there and what damage I can inflict if I do it wrong.
Anyone know what is in there?
Thanks in advance.
__________________
It's So Easy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2022, 10:04 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,434
Default

How far is it off in 12"?

I suspect you need to load whatever you are feeding to get a good measurement, snug up the locks and make your test, that is if you have locks.
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2022, 10:30 PM
clive's Avatar
clive clive is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,115
Default

GWIZ, it only does about 6”, but I found this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Rs7P1SHIyM which shows what is inside so I’ll give it a good clean and see if that improves it
__________________
It's So Easy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2022, 03:48 AM
clive's Avatar
clive clive is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,115
Default

took it apart, cleaned every part of it and put it back together. Still out .001” in .010” so guess it’s new reader time.
__________________
It's So Easy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-27-2022, 07:42 AM
toprecycler's Avatar
toprecycler toprecycler is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 6,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clive View Post
took it apart, cleaned every part of it and put it back together. Still out .001” in .010” so guess it’s new reader time.




Is it always consistent .001” off? Depending on the model of the DRO brain unit it may be able to be programmed to the change you need. Try doing a search for calibration of your unit.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Brian

You don't know what you don't know.

"It's what you learn after you know it all that counts." John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-27-2022, 10:43 AM
greywynd's Avatar
greywynd greywynd is offline
I can dig it
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wainwright, Alberta
Posts: 6,308
Default

Some DRO’s will allow a correction factor to be programmed in for things like this. Some of the older ones it was hidden away in parameters, some of the newer ones are a little easier to find.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-27-2022, 01:35 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 22,397
Default

My unit has internal calibration marks, you have to move the X and Y enough when powering up the machine before you start using it so it can calibrate, your might have a similar system.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-27-2022, 06:05 PM
greywynd's Avatar
greywynd greywynd is offline
I can dig it
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wainwright, Alberta
Posts: 6,308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade Tree Welder View Post
My unit has internal calibration marks, you have to move the X and Y enough when powering up the machine before you start using it so it can calibrate, your might have a similar system.

Forgot that one, and some also have reference marks near the end.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-27-2022, 09:41 PM
clive's Avatar
clive clive is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,115
Default

Thanks for your help guys, I found the manual and it showed how to set the reference point, which I did. Then set up a dial gauge to zero, DRO to zero, then dialled on .010”. Surprise surprise, both the DRO and the dial gauge read .009”. I repeated this and got the same results each time.
Chinese lathe, about 8-9 years old so I doubt if it is leadscrew wear but could be, at least I know the DRO is functioning, I can live with that. Next I’ll check the complete length of the leadscrew. I’ll post the results.
__________________
It's So Easy
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-27-2022, 10:37 PM
clive's Avatar
clive clive is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,115
Default

I just tested the thing (X axis) over the entire length of movement and it was the same. As this includes parts of the screw I have never had occasion to use I think it is shitty Chinese manufacturing techniques, maybe the one dial fits several machines and they accept this as a trade off.
__________________
It's So Easy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.