Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Machining

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-02-2021, 04:22 PM
JohnBoy's Avatar
JohnBoy JohnBoy is offline
Director of Languages
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southern Ireland
Posts: 3,153
Default

Metric for anything I would make, which is another plus for the Chinaman.

I like the 8x24 or 8x29 ones as they have a 38mm spindle bore which strikes a knownothing like me as very useful, makes a small lathe able to handle some long stuff
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-02-2021, 04:25 PM
JohnBoy's Avatar
JohnBoy JohnBoy is offline
Director of Languages
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southern Ireland
Posts: 3,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob65 View Post
John boy, Do you have a Machine Mart store near you or are you able to get up to the north?

My first lathe was one of these. https://www.machinemart.co.uk/p/cl430-metal-lathe/

It’s surprisingly capable. I now have a big Colchester but kept then Clarke for smaller stuff.

Rob


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
No, there isn't even a machine mart in NI as far as I know.

https://www.clarkedistributors.ie/in...6&search=Lathe

And when sold here they are bonkers money
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-03-2021, 08:58 AM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is online now
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 16,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnBoy View Post
Gerry: What have you done, sending me down the rabbit hole of alibabba.

Shipping to ireland adds a LOT, plus import taxes. Its often cheaper to buy something that came into europe via full container and is shipped locally. you can get a pallet across europe for very small money if you're not in a rush.

But still, gonna look because yeah there's some much better machines on there if the numbers added up.
Bwahahahaha
I had a shipment last year from China, of 530kg and it cost $300Cdn to land it in port here.
And like you said, don't be in a panic. I'm sure there is a way to do this if you want to.
__________________
Gerry
You got freedom of speech, if you don't say too much.
Aaron Neville.

When a liberal screams racism, you can bet they were also born with white skin.

The countries whom the gods would destroy they first make green. Rex Murphy
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-03-2021, 10:32 AM
milomilo's Avatar
milomilo milomilo is offline
Auction Addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wheatland, Wyoming
Posts: 18,838
Default

Like others have said, a tail stock is an essential item. Change gears are a pain in the ass. You will appreciate a quick change gear box.
__________________
Chris

One of the penalties for refusing to participate in politics is that you end up being governed by your inferiors. Plato

LET'S GO BRANDON!!!!

B biggest
I idot
D democrats
E ever
N nominated
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-03-2021, 02:50 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 22,397
Default

So I saw this and thought I would ask about it...

https://www.facebook.com/groups/3593...ssenger_banner

Quote:
Me: Do you have the tail stock? Steady rest? Are there any other chucks you have for it 3 jaw scroll chuck? Face plate?

Him: Yes, it's available. I have a 3 jaw chuck and a 4 jaw chuck no tail stock or steady rest.

Me: No thanks, you’re going to have a hard time selling it with out a tail stock.

Him: Wasn’t looking for an opinion if you wasn’t stupid and knew more about these machines you would know that the machine values at $4,000 I’m selling for $2,500 can easily go online and find a tail stock for less than $1,000 and would only be $3,500 in but you must have a hard time understanding what’s in front of you.
Well...

Lathes without tail stocks are mostly useless...

Personally, they are only worth scrap value.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-04-2021, 08:50 PM
clive's Avatar
clive clive is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,115
Default

John, I have Chicom lathe and a mill, the lathe is accurate, far better than some of the crap ones I’ve operated in various machine shops over the last 50 odd years. At the time I was looking at a Taiwanese one but this came with more goodies so I went down the Chicom path. I cut a lot of metric threads on it, until this last year I cut minimum 720 off 12x1.75 per year and it has been more than adequate. There has been an issue with the bearing in the cross slide but I replaced it easily and hasn’t been a problem since. I leave the nut engaged with all threading by habit as it is easier for me, it has an excellent foot brake.
__________________
It's So Easy
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-04-2021, 08:52 PM
clive's Avatar
clive clive is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,115
Default

I did a double post and it wont let me get rid of it.
__________________
It's So Easy
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-21-2022, 05:49 PM
JohnBoy's Avatar
JohnBoy JohnBoy is offline
Director of Languages
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southern Ireland
Posts: 3,153
Default

Been watching the small ads for the last while. Technically I'm not ready to buy, but if a deal was to come up then you gotta move.

There's been more myfords on the market in the last few months too, some nice looking machines which are coming in at similar money to the Chinese lathes I've been considering.

But today I missed out on a deal. A clean south bend with two chucks, couple of tailstock bits, boring bar, has and insert tooling for 250 euro only an hour and a half away.

I saw the ad 3 hours after had gone up and it was already being collected by its new owner. One of the more complete setups I've seen in a while, for a fraction of the price of others. C'est la vie.

I need to focus on getting the bandsaw onto a smaller base and build a bench over it for now
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-04-2022, 06:52 AM
JohnBoy's Avatar
JohnBoy JohnBoy is offline
Director of Languages
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southern Ireland
Posts: 3,153
Default

For a first lathe, is length or diameter more important?

Lets say an 8x27 is the same price as a 10x20, and all other parameters are equal in terms of gearing, bed width, spindle bore etc. which is the better choice?

I know it's a very piece of string question but curious as to the opinions and reasoning behind them.


I have no specific tasks in mind for this lathe, I mostly expect it will be pins and bushes for old farm machinery starting out so most things I'll be turning will probably be less than 2x12 in reality.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-04-2022, 08:23 AM
greywynd's Avatar
greywynd greywynd is offline
I can dig it
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wainwright, Alberta
Posts: 6,308
Default

Weight. If it’s splitting hairs like that, go with the heavier machine. It’ll be more stable and less apt to vibrate or chatter.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.