Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   

Old 04-10-2006, 11:00 AM

Question 2 Different Proper Gas Mixes

Hi

I'm new to mig welding, but I did weld Elec. & Tig ~ BUT NOT 'MIG'

2 QUESTIONS PLEASE:

I'll be Mig welding (but not till I hear from you guys) 16 to 20 gauge sheet metal. Its car sheet metal don't really know the exact gauge. I'm sure you pro's out there will be kind enough to straighten me out on the gauge.

Question# 1 What is the proper gas mix for welding that car sheet metal

FINAL QUESTION PLEASE:

I'll be weld on the frame of the car (much heavier metal, again don't know the guage.)
I'll be using Flux-Core wire of course. What would be the setting for that kind of welding on the frame

I'm buying a Millermatic 135 unless you guys think I need something smaller that will still done the job

I will not be welding everyday, this is for my classic Mustang. So after I weld the sheet metal and part of the frame, that will be it for awhile on welding.
Till my next project of course.

THANK YOU ALL
GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR FAMILIES.

Schooner
Old 04-10-2006, 11:56 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCHOONER
Hi

I'm new to mig welding, but I did weld Elec. & Tig ~ BUT NOT 'MIG'

2 QUESTIONS PLEASE:

I'll be Mig welding (but not till I hear from you guys) 16 to 20 gauge sheet metal. Its car sheet metal don't really know the exact gauge. I'm sure you pro's out there will be kind enough to straighten me out on the gauge.

Question# 1 What is the proper gas mix for welding that car sheet metal

FINAL QUESTION PLEASE:

I'll be weld on the frame of the car (much heavier metal, again don't know the guage.)
I'll be using Flux-Core wire of course. What would be the setting for that kind of welding on the frame

I'm buying a Millermatic 135 unless you guys think I need something smaller that will still done the job