Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2012, 05:36 PM
Vern2's Avatar
Vern2 Vern2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 670
Smile Plasma Cam - Questions

Was wondering what Plasma Cam users are using for the THC, version 1 or version 2?

Does anyone know it version 2 really stops, tip-up collisions?

Here is an intense THC Video, here.
__________________
Vern
http://www.enichesoftware.com

Last edited by Vern2; 09-07-2012 at 05:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2012, 05:44 PM
Vern2's Avatar
Vern2 Vern2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 670
Smile

Grounding: Have seen CNC plasma torch control and motor suppliers (CandCNC, here) request a remote ground be placed near the plasma table, grounding the table and grid.

It's intense to me to drill the concrete and hammer a 6' ground rod in the shop floor. Is this a good idea when running a Plasma cam?
__________________
Vern
http://www.enichesoftware.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2012, 05:57 PM
Vern2's Avatar
Vern2 Vern2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 670
Smile

I know this could be an intense question. Simple explanation is okay. Can someone tell me how you index a drawing if the drawing extends longer then the table cutting surface. This is when you are pushing the cut plate through table. Is pins used or are you just lining up drilled holes or marks?
__________________
Vern
http://www.enichesoftware.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2012, 06:24 PM
Vern2's Avatar
Vern2 Vern2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 670
Smile

Hard question to ask. How is an out-sider going to be accepted in the Plasma Cam owners forum? I did not pay full admission as an owner member, my machine does not say, Plasma Cam.

I've been on this forum for a couple years, so you know my attitude when posting. I really try to put all the info I have in my posts, pictures and videos. I'm hoping GoTorch won't become my label there.
__________________
Vern
http://www.enichesoftware.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2012, 06:59 PM
Vern2's Avatar
Vern2 Vern2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 670
Smile

What is needed for a Hypertherm 45 to Plasma Cam connections.

1) Opening the plasma cutter case, then splicing two wires to a remote relay, to control torch on/off leads.

2) Second connection would be the torch okay signals.

3) The last connection would have to do with measuring the torch voltage, when buying the THC, must have option. It may consist of a transformer and torch voltage wires going through the transformer a few times.

You can see this can be intense. Please, don't say it's easy and it's on the install CD, been told that already.

I don't need blow by blow. You can say, "All three of the connections have to me done". Will that's intense.
__________________
Vern
http://www.enichesoftware.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2012, 07:42 PM
Scotts's Avatar
Scotts Scotts is offline
Stuff, Just stuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 5,165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vern2 View Post
Grounding: Have seen CNC plasma torch control and motor suppliers (CandCNC, here) request a remote ground be placed near the plasma table, grounding the table and grid.

It's intense to me to drill the concrete and hammer a 6' ground rod in the shop floor. Is this a good idea when running a Plasma cam?
Yes, In some cases the plasma will mess with your tv radio, computer phone and what not. One place I was at had a ground rod on each end of the table. One bonding wire went out of the building and the rod was driven in the ground. This one was put in first. At the other end of the table there was a CNC material roller that freaked out at certain points when the torch fired.

YMMV

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2012, 08:33 PM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 13,899
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vern2 View Post
Grounding: Have seen CNC plasma torch control and motor suppliers (CandCNC, here) request a remote ground be placed near the plasma table, grounding the table and grid.

It's intense to me to drill the concrete and hammer a 6' ground rod in the shop floor. Is this a good idea when running a Plasma cam?
Vern,
I don't know about intense, but I do know the only purpose is to drain off RF energy. I have a cheap set of jumper cables clamped to the shop air line and over to the table. I have never had an rf issue. But one other very important reason to ground is-
If for some reason, (like insanity), you forget to put your plasma torch ground clamp on, or it gets knocked off when you drop a sheet onto the table......The torch will fire and cut.
The path to return to the plasma cutter is now through the ground wires of the shop, the neutral wire of the control module on the table, the vent fan neutral wire....some smoke will be generated if this continues.

I have the DHC2 conversion. It does not stop tip ups, you have to make your own grate to put an end to that issue. I can help you with that. But when the torch contacts a tip up the torch stops dead and the screen displays "Torch hit material" It does not plow on blindly and drag your work around the table til it quits.

Connecting the Plasma source, you should have a video for your torch in with all the other assembly vidios. With pictures it is real easy to do. Even easier to connect a machine torch. If after trying a bit and if we can't help with the torch hookup, Jim Colt can. He is on this board and is a genius, as well as the Hypertherm factory rep.

If you are the legal registered owner of your machine the serial # is all you need for the forum. If you are not the registered owner, contact Plasmacam and they will send you a form to fill out to register as the owner. Then any deals, communications, etc will come your way.
__________________
Gerry
You got freedom of speech, if you don't say too much.
Aaron Neville.

The virtue is always a cover for the sin. That's the key to understanding the modern left. Whatever they're accusing you of doing, they are doing themselves but more enthusiastically. And that's definitely the story of Justin Trudeau. Tucker Carlson
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-07-2012, 08:43 PM
platypus20's Avatar
platypus20 platypus20 is offline
Boiler God
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: camillus, ny (syracuse)
Posts: 9,629
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vern2 View Post
What is needed for a Hypertherm 45 to Plasma Cam connections.

1) Opening the plasma cutter case, then splicing two wires to a remote relay, to control torch on/off leads.

2) Second connection would be the torch okay signals.

3) The last connection would have to do with measuring the torch voltage, when buying the THC, must have option. It may consist of a transformer and torch voltage wires going through the transformer a few times.

You can see this can be intense. Please, don't say it's easy and it's on the install CD, been told that already.

I don't need blow by blow. You can say, "All three of the connections have to me done". Will that's intense.

Vern,

Why would you alter the wiring inside the machine, when there is a machine interface built into the machine, available through the factory installed Amphenol plug on the back of the machine ?? See pages 4-28 and 4-29 of the Powermax 45 owners's manual.
__________________
jack
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-07-2012, 08:45 PM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 13,899
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vern2 View Post
I know this could be an intense question. Simple explanation is okay. Can someone tell me how you index a drawing if the drawing extends longer then the table cutting surface. This is when you are pushing the cut plate through table. Is pins used or are you just lining up drilled holes or marks?
For indexing a sheet --- a way that is simple
and accurate,assuming you start with the sheet up against the end stop. First measure the distance on your machine between the inside of the large angle end beam to the sheet stopper (the side of the stopper the
sheet rests up against), mine is 6" and I imagine most machines should be approx. the same. Write it down because this is the only measurement you will ever need.
Place your drawings near this end and do the first stage of cutting. Remove the end stop and slide the sheet along until the lead in at
the end of the cut is 6" from the inside of the angle end beam (the 6" measurement must be to the nearest side of the lead in or you
will be the width of the kerf too long)

Thats it, or you can also use a laser square like they sell cheap for hanging pictures and such. You just use the square at the corner and it shows you right where the
last cuts stopped easily. To accomplish this easily you will need to make the side grate stops a solid, permanent piece of metal rather
than the drop in stops or mark your side rails with permanent marks
so you line up with the end stops.. I did this a long time ago and it helps out a lot having the stop made of a piece of strap....one
full length of the side. Just make sure you take it the full length past the last notch clear to the corner.
__________________
Gerry
You got freedom of speech, if you don't say too much.
Aaron Neville.

The virtue is always a cover for the sin. That's the key to understanding the modern left. Whatever they're accusing you of doing, they are doing themselves but more enthusiastically. And that's definitely the story of Justin Trudeau. Tucker Carlson
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-07-2012, 08:52 PM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 13,899
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by platypus20 View Post
Vern,

Why would you alter the wiring inside the machine, when there is a machine interface built into the machine, available through the factory installed Amphenol plug on the back of the machine ?? See pages 4-28 and 4-29 of the Powermax 45 owners's manual.
Jack, he's using the hand torch on this table.
__________________
Gerry
You got freedom of speech, if you don't say too much.
Aaron Neville.

The virtue is always a cover for the sin. That's the key to understanding the modern left. Whatever they're accusing you of doing, they are doing themselves but more enthusiastically. And that's definitely the story of Justin Trudeau. Tucker Carlson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.