Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2011, 07:48 PM
miles miles is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: red deer alberta canada
Posts: 26
Default mm251 and generater

Hi Guys, I am wondering if anyone has run their 251 from a genset. I have used as well as owned a 251 for many years, and now find myself in need to do some onsight welding from a generater. 20 kw. possibly 208 volt. I am concerned about potential damage to the machine.. Anyone with first hand experience?? Miles
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2011, 01:12 PM
miles miles is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: red deer alberta canada
Posts: 26
Default

Has no one ever plugged a mm251 into a genny??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-03-2011, 01:17 PM
cutter's Avatar
cutter cutter is offline

12-29-1943 to 1-17-2020
Curmudgeon emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lubbock,Texas
Posts: 33,110
Default

I can't help you, Miles.
I have a 251 but I don't have a generator & so far haven't needed one.
__________________
cutter
Housekeeping Staff: the Gatekeeper
Director of Policy, Syntax and Grammar (by appointment)

"Dr. Chandran, will I dream?"

Just Keep Walking

"I am not a body, I am free.
For I am still as God created me."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-03-2011, 01:35 PM
RED caddy's Avatar
RED caddy RED caddy is offline

10-28-1951 to 4-19-2021
Da Chief
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Venice, Florida
Posts: 5,556
Default

For what it's worth, My Mitsubishi 8500 genset runs my MM210 just fine, as does my Generac 6.5 K. (I only used it up to 110 amp setting though) I haven't tried the new/old Dial arc on any of the generators yet, that old girl is way too heavy to go portable anyway.

My propane, wholehouse, 17 K Guardian genset will handle the house, AC, well pumps and the shop load, although it is a bit thirsty at full load. (3.5 GPH) Water heater, stove and clothes dryer are propane, so that frees up a lot of load capicity.

RED (living on a sand spit, in the land of hurrycain's)
__________________
A 160 MPH drive, down a 2 lane blacktop, all by yourself, is NOT anti-social behaviour... I drag race because football, baseball, and golf only need ONE ball. Paul.


What I really need to know is, WHEN DOES THE SHOOTING START?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-03-2011, 02:44 PM
miles miles is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: red deer alberta canada
Posts: 26
Default

Thanks for the replies. I posted the same question on the miller board and a few people with a lot of knowledge and experience responded with encouraging posts. I will most likely proceed with the welds.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-03-2011, 06:07 PM
Pat's Avatar
Pat Pat is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern Wisconsin
Posts: 1,808
Default

Miles,

I have run my MM210 off my Trailblazer 302 without any problems and I believe that puts out 10kw or 10.5kw. Now, we may need to get a sparky involved here. I believe 208 volts would put that into the 3 phase range, and your MM251 would need to be switched over to 3 phase which I believe all you need to do is move the push in contactor from single to 3 phase. That is the way it would be done for the MM210, but the MM251 may be different. At 20kw you should have power to spare. Because I am not too sure about the 3 phase issue, you may want to get a hold of one of the spark's on here to confirm it......good luck
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.