Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Mechanical & Electrical

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-22-2021, 03:30 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,185
Default

Measure the DC amps under load should give you a better idea than the manual.

Get your self an AMP clamp meter
BE sure its one that can measure "DC amps with the clamp jaws" and I "guess" a range about 250 amps.

Most amp-clamps are AC only so double check!!!
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis

Last edited by GWIZ; 01-22-2021 at 03:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-23-2021, 07:55 AM
arizonian's Avatar
arizonian arizonian is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 1,449
Default

I'm sure you have thought of this, but the last thing you need is to fry the motor when the load is 3/4 of the way up. What's the recovery plan then? Man basket and rental crane? Erect scaffolding under the load?
__________________
Bill in sunny Tucson

I believe in gun control.

Gun Control: The ability to consistently hit what you are aiming at.

Weldor by choice, engineer by necessity.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-23-2021, 03:32 PM
digger doug's Avatar
digger doug digger doug is offline
Not to be used as a Flotation Device
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Pa
Posts: 12,997
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barn Owl View Post
I do have a nice Ingersol Rand compressor, but I fear the 80 gallon tank would not be enough air in reserve to lift it effectively.
I like the bigger 1 ton hoist you found in my area, thanks.
I think it will work fine.
Why does everyone list their compressor as "tank size" ?

Assume a 5 hp t-30 two stage unit ?

remember, going down, it won't take much pressure.

And your duty cycle is very low, you'll hoist one up, move it around, stage the one going down under the crane, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-23-2021, 06:07 PM
terry lingle's Avatar
terry lingle terry lingle is offline
Something's Fishy ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birch Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,562
Default

A hoist has a brake that activates when the power is removed.
winches normally do not. Winches come it two varieties worm gear reduction which may prevent the load driving an unpowered winch backwards and planetary reduction which is much easier to drive in reverse. I almost lost a vehicle when the battery died at the worst possible time on a Warn planetary style winch.
The vehicle was on a very steep slope and the motor was off to prevent oil starvation damage. After that I invested in a much heavier Braden worm drive winch.
__________________
Life beats the alternative hands down.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-23-2021, 07:33 PM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 15,377
Default

The new ones have brakes on. lt will release during pull only on mine. I have one and gave one to my son, planetary drive and brake. They must have been aware of runaway potential of planet systems.
__________________
Gerry
You got freedom of speech, if you don't say too much.
Aaron Neville.

The virtue is always a cover for the sin. That's the key to understanding the modern left. Whatever they're accusing you of doing, they are doing themselves but more enthusiastically. And that's definitely the story of Justin Trudeau. Tucker Carlson
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-24-2021, 06:26 PM
yooper yooper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ontonagon
Posts: 58
Default

I want to see the youtube video of this debacle when it occurs - lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by arizonian View Post
I'm sure you have thought of this, but the last thing you need is to fry the motor when the load is 3/4 of the way up. What's the recovery plan then? Man basket and rental crane? Erect scaffolding under the load?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-26-2021, 11:38 AM
Barn Owl's Avatar
Barn Owl Barn Owl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 951
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by digger doug View Post
I think it will work fine.
Why does everyone list their compressor as "tank size" ?

Assume a 5 hp t-30 two stage unit ?

remember, going down, it won't take much pressure.

And your duty cycle is very low, you'll hoist one up, move it around, stage the one going down under the crane, etc.
I listed the tank size because that describes the air in reserve. I could have a 20 hp compressor on a 5 gallon tank and the compressor would run continuously. Typically compressors cannot put out high pressure air if the tank is empty, it is only a fraction of what the compressor can deliver when fully pressurized.
I do not know what the air requirements for the chain fall or the cable hoist are so I referenced the tank size for those who do. I have a pneumatic hoist at the school where I teach but we also have two 200 gallon tanks supplying them and we never have an issue with not enough air.
__________________
Mike

"Yes, we did produce a near perfect Republic. But will they keep it? Or will they in their enjoyment of plenty, lose the memory of freedom? Material abundance without character is the surest way to destruction. Indeed, I tremble for my country when I reflect that God is just."

Thomas Jefferson



If you spent 1 million dollars every day from the time Christ walked the earth until now, you still would not have spent 1 trillion dollars!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-26-2021, 03:04 PM
digger doug's Avatar
digger doug digger doug is offline
Not to be used as a Flotation Device
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Pa
Posts: 12,997
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barn Owl View Post
I listed the tank size because that describes the air in reserve. I could have a 20 hp compressor on a 5 gallon tank and the compressor would run continuously. Typically compressors cannot put out high pressure air if the tank is empty, it is only a fraction of what the compressor can deliver when fully pressurized.
I do not know what the air requirements for the chain fall or the cable hoist are so I referenced the tank size for those who do. I have a pneumatic hoist at the school where I teach but we also have two 200 gallon tanks supplying them and we never have an issue with not enough air.
You really don't have any idea what your blathering on about.....
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-27-2021, 10:58 PM
Barn Owl's Avatar
Barn Owl Barn Owl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 951
Default

I am not sure what you are confused about. If you have an empty compressor tank and upon initial start up try to use your nail gun or sand blaster it is not going to work all that well. The reserve pressure in the tank is what will effectively run the tool. Maybe you are used to the compressors that run a jack hammer and have a lot more air volume, but I was trying to ensure that the pressure needed to run the air powered hoist did not start to starve the tool on the 30 foot decent. So let me clarify what I was trying to convey: the pressure may be high enough but the volume of delivery is not sufficient to run much, including an air powered hoist.
__________________
Mike

"Yes, we did produce a near perfect Republic. But will they keep it? Or will they in their enjoyment of plenty, lose the memory of freedom? Material abundance without character is the surest way to destruction. Indeed, I tremble for my country when I reflect that God is just."

Thomas Jefferson



If you spent 1 million dollars every day from the time Christ walked the earth until now, you still would not have spent 1 trillion dollars!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.