Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Machining

 
 
SFT Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2006, 01:38 PM
jksweld's Avatar
jksweld jksweld is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clay WV
Posts: 654
Default has anyone used these power feeds

found these on ebay and was thinking of making a line bore rig and using this to feed the bar and a 120v motor to turn the bar 135 lbs power feed
150 lbs power feed

what do you all think

Thanks James
__________________
When the weldin' hood drops the Bulls**t stops

SAGO MINE TRAGEDY
WE WILL NEVER FORGET
1-2-06
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2006, 06:41 PM
lars66's Avatar
lars66 lars66 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: St. Paul Park, MN
Posts: 661
Default

I wonder if the torque rating holds up at the low speed end?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2006, 07:15 PM
precisionworks's Avatar
precisionworks precisionworks is offline
American Tools Keep Americans Working
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Benton, IL
Posts: 3,177
Default

Bridgeport power feeds have really limited torque. When the ad states 135 lbs or 150 lbs, these are not American lbs. Chinese probably, much like Chinese horsepower ... which must come from tiny horses that aren't well fed

The power feed has no more torque than you can apply by hand, maybe 13.5 to 15 foot pounds. It sounds like you need more. A gearmotor with VFD control is probably the easiest approach.

Always a bunch on eBay for a giveaway prices: http://tinyurl.com/yk4bmm

The three-phase AC models can be VFD driven. The 90 volt DC models use a DC motor controller. Both of those can also be found on eBay, or at retail supply houses.
__________________
Barry Milton - Please email or PayPal through PrecisionWorks.co
PM's are disabled
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2006, 08:39 PM
Scotts's Avatar
Scotts Scotts is offline
Stuff, Just stuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 5,702
Default

It looks like the one we had on a mill at a place I used to work for. If it is it won't survive a drop test. In one of the pictures on the ebay site it shows some pictures of parts in a sack. That big gear is plastic it was the weak link in ours. I do see that there is some type of overload on it.

I will go with precisionworks on his assesment.

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-13-2006, 09:04 PM
Jeff's Avatar
Jeff Jeff is offline
Big Iron
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: N.E.SD
Posts: 1,892
Default

James,
Last year we bored a 14 1/2" bore in a dragline and use a 1 hp motor with a dodge shaft mount speed reducer for a drive,and it worked great.
__________________
Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-14-2006, 02:50 AM
jksweld's Avatar
jksweld jksweld is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clay WV
Posts: 654
Default

first off thanks for the help, but I still don't understand a few things. Pic #1 is what Iam using for a "pattern". I have a 1/4 horse gearmotor that is reversable that I can use as the feed drive or the bar drive (if it will work as one or the other). the "pattern" in pic 1 is about 9amps and 35ft lbs of torque and the feed drive is 200 inch lbs of torque.If I use my motor for the bar drive I think I can controll the speed by one of these and maybe use this for the feed drive
and control the feed rate the same way as the bar speed

Ok heres a drawing I drew up, not as good as digr's but I think it will help

thanks James
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cadet.jpg
Views:	225
Size:	31.7 KB
ID:	17413   Click image for larger version

Name:	Plans.JPG
Views:	211
Size:	35.7 KB
ID:	17414  
__________________
When the weldin' hood drops the Bulls**t stops

SAGO MINE TRAGEDY
WE WILL NEVER FORGET
1-2-06
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-14-2006, 03:40 AM
jksweld's Avatar
jksweld jksweld is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clay WV
Posts: 654
Default

how would this do for a feed drive
1/15hp
250 inch lbs torque

cant get the link button to work here it is
http://cgi.ebay.com/DAYTON-2Z797D-AC...QQcmdZViewItem

James
__________________
When the weldin' hood drops the Bulls**t stops

SAGO MINE TRAGEDY
WE WILL NEVER FORGET
1-2-06
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-14-2006, 12:23 PM
lars66's Avatar
lars66 lars66 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: St. Paul Park, MN
Posts: 661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jksweld
how would this do for a feed drive
1/15hp
250 inch lbs torque

cant get the link button to work here it is
http://cgi.ebay.com/DAYTON-2Z797D-AC...QQcmdZViewItem

James
I think variable speed would be just a important on the feed as on the bar rpm.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-14-2006, 09:30 PM
Jeff's Avatar
Jeff Jeff is offline
Big Iron
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: N.E.SD
Posts: 1,892
Default

I would just worry about the drive for the bar and use a hand feed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image010.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	53.6 KB
ID:	17422  
__________________
Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-14-2006, 09:52 PM
stock z/28 stock z/28 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: lafayette, In
Posts: 250
Default

Hi,

For what its worth I have a couple of these power feeds on mill tables and they seem to work well



Jeff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.