Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Machining

 
 
SFT Search:
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-17-2009, 03:37 PM
platypus20's Avatar
platypus20 platypus20 is offline
Boiler God
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: camillus, ny (syracuse)
Posts: 10,035
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fla Jim View Post
I just got the info from this site:
http://grizzly.com/products/9-x-32-G...th-Stand/G0484
But you're right when I went to the catalog page, it listed 120
http://www.grizzly.com/catalog/2009/Main/536
Jim,

The whole speed selection is different, from the first post to the second post, makes you wonder which set of information is correct.

Jack
__________________
jack
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-17-2009, 04:32 PM
OLD MAN's Avatar
OLD MAN OLD MAN is offline

2-3-1940 to 3-8-2011
Nobody was faster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 12,569
Default

it is wired for 220 but will work on 110. I have both, what is the best and why?
__________________
You do the best you can with what you've got.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-17-2009, 04:50 PM
Fla Jim's Avatar
Fla Jim Fla Jim is offline
Harbor Freight Backslider
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: West Central Florida
Posts: 2,553
Default

220, half the amps. But saying that, when I had my mill drill, I left it wired
110.
I think it drew about 20 amps at 110. I tripped the breaker a couple times, doing heavy milling. I put the table feed and two lights that I had on it on a separate circuit.
__________________
Jim the Shop Rat
From Jim’s Magic Garage®

How a politician stands on the Second Amendment tells you how he or she views you as an individual... as a trustworthy and productive citizen, or as part of an unruly crowd that needs to be lorded over, controlled, supervised, and taken care of.
???'?? ???'?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-17-2009, 06:20 PM
platypus20's Avatar
platypus20 platypus20 is offline
Boiler God
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: camillus, ny (syracuse)
Posts: 10,035
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD MAN View Post
it is wired for 220 but will work on 110. I have both, what is the best and why?
As Jim said, there is no real operational difference, If its 20 amps on 110, then the amperage would be 10 amps on both hot legs on 220, so the wattage would be the same. Depending on the motor design, some of them will get to full rpm a little faster on 220 vs 110. I was told by a Marathon motor service tech, if its a constant run motor, there is no difference, if the motor is to be shut on and off alot, then 220 is better as its easier on the motor windings, whether thats true, I'm not sure. As the amperage is lower each leg on 220, you can run smaller wire, to a point, but you will also need a 220 volt double circuit breaker.

Jack
__________________
jack
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-17-2009, 09:26 PM
precisionworks's Avatar
precisionworks precisionworks is offline
American Tools Keep Americans Working
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Benton, IL
Posts: 3,177
Default

Quote:
if the motor is to be shut on and off a lot, then 220 is better as its easier on the motor windings, whether that's true, I'm not sure.
120v is marginal above 1 hp, and the voltage sag means the motor is often trying to start with under 100v. 240 has minimal sag, the lights in your shop don't dim, the breaker doesn't trip, and the motor immediately comes up to full speed. 240v is a clear winner, and you'll need a double pole breaker that fits your panel.
__________________
Barry Milton - Please email or PayPal through PrecisionWorks.co
PM's are disabled
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-17-2009, 09:34 PM
OLD MAN's Avatar
OLD MAN OLD MAN is offline

2-3-1940 to 3-8-2011
Nobody was faster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 12,569
Default

It will be about 10' from a 200A service entrance and I have blank slots. I will just run a piece of condiut and put in a dedicated 220v plug.
__________________
You do the best you can with what you've got.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-18-2009, 12:01 AM
cutter's Avatar
cutter cutter is offline

12-29-1943 to 1-17-2020
Curmudgeon emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lubbock,Texas
Posts: 33,097
Default

Are we there yet?
I'm wanting an update already.
Are you really gonna leave it that color?
We need pictures.
What about tooling?
What does Kat think about it?
Did you run 3 or 4 wire 220?
How you gonna sneak this one past Mrs. Old Man?
I bet you better run 4 wire for when you add the DRO.
Its gonna take one hell of an anniversary present next year, you know.
Hey - this thread is named wrong now.
__________________
cutter
Housekeeping Staff: the Gatekeeper
Director of Policy, Syntax and Grammar (by appointment)

"Dr. Chandran, will I dream?"

Just Keep Walking

"I am not a body, I am free.
For I am still as God created me."
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-18-2009, 12:03 AM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,585
Default

OM,
you need too find someone that has one of these mills and ask them if it's any good.
Maybe its ok, but I don't like the swivel and size of the dovetail mount.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq mill.jpg
Views:	537
Size:	37.5 KB
ID:	44698  

Last edited by GWIZ; 04-18-2009 at 12:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-18-2009, 01:27 AM
OLD MAN's Avatar
OLD MAN OLD MAN is offline

2-3-1940 to 3-8-2011
Nobody was faster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 12,569
Default

GWIZ THIS IS THE ONE i BOUGHT

http://www.use-enco.com/CGI/INSRIT?PMAKA=307-2792

__________________
You do the best you can with what you've got.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-18-2009, 01:33 AM
OLD MAN's Avatar
OLD MAN OLD MAN is offline

2-3-1940 to 3-8-2011
Nobody was faster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 12,569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cutter View Post
Are we there yet?
I'm wanting an update already.
Are you really gonna leave it that color?
We need pictures.
What about tooling?
What does Kat think about it?
Did you run 3 or 4 wire 220?
How you gonna sneak this one past Mrs. Old Man?
I bet you better run 4 wire for when you add the DRO.
Its gonna take one hell of an anniversary present next year, you know.
Hey - this thread is named wrong now.

no
me too
yes
me too
making an order now
She don't know
will run 4 wire.
52"tv to block view.
yep 4
already covered.
yep.
__________________
You do the best you can with what you've got.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mill/drill

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.