Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Shop & Safety

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2020, 09:49 AM
trooper1954 trooper1954 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Kamloops, BC Canada
Posts: 31
Default CH 2610 Compressor air leak at breather cap

Hi all,
Finally found a blower fan for the above compressor, but now, when it's running, there is a small amount of air blowing by the breather cap.....was wondering if this is normal? The compressor runs well, and holds pressure otherwise, but not sure if this is a problem, and if so, what the fix is?
Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2020, 12:29 PM
LKeithR's Avatar
LKeithR LKeithR is offline
Hey...wait...is there a prize?
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Langley, B.C.
Posts: 5,223
Default

I'm not sure what the fan has to do with the blowby unless you're saying that you hadn't run the compressor till you got the fan. In any case, a little bit of blowby shouldn't be the end of the world. Depends on how old the compressor is, how old you are and how much longer you want to run it.

We've got an old deVilbiss compressor in the shop that we bought used 22 years ago and it was probably 20 years old when we got it. It didn't have a filter on the air intake and I never got around to putting one on but it still makes 140-150 lbs. of air when we need it. And yes, it does have a bit of blowby...
__________________
Keith

Measure twice and cut once...or...wait, was that the other way around?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2020, 01:00 PM
trooper1954 trooper1954 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Kamloops, BC Canada
Posts: 31
Default

Thanks Keith,
Yes....the compressor is 20 years old but in excellent shape. I don't mind the little bit of blowby as it runs so well, but was concerned that I might do further damage by running it like this. It will never be doing heavy duty work, just short sessions maybe twice a week, so from the sounds of it I can just keep going?
It has been idle for two years and got damaged in a move....the blower wheel cracked and had to be replaced...I didn't want to run it without cooling for the pump so waited.
Thanks again for the input
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2020, 02:53 PM
mccutter's Avatar
mccutter mccutter is offline
Post Fiend
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 9,001
Default

Make sure oil level is correct...
__________________

TA Arcmaster 185 w/tig/stick kit
MillerMatic 252 w/3rd gen 30A
MM140 w/o AS, w/CO2
Hobart (Miller) 625 plasma
Hobart 250ci plasma
Victor O/A (always ready, but bored)
Lincoln Patriot autodark (freebie)
45ACP Black Talons for those stubborn jobs...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2020, 03:09 PM
trooper1954 trooper1954 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Kamloops, BC Canada
Posts: 31
Default

mccutter,
old oil drained, and fresh oil put in....bang on the "oil level" mark.
Thx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.