Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Mechanical & Electrical

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-27-2020, 05:01 AM
gimpyrobb's Avatar
gimpyrobb gimpyrobb is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincy Oh
Posts: 1,924
Default

A buddy who is an electrician came over and helped troubleshoot for about 6hrs. In the end, we ran a new wire to a junction box to tie in to the circuit. Everything is now working, its amazing how much crap is on that circuit! Might try to separate out some stuff to a new one at a later date.

Thanks for the suggestions gang.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-06-2020, 07:12 PM
LW Hiway's Avatar
LW Hiway LW Hiway is offline
Lord of the Minions
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fuck Lake Charles
Posts: 21,401
Default

Quote:
I've seen feed through outlets with the push in wires in the rear of the outlet do strange things.
It has been years since I relied on using those wire ports. More so only because it's my choice. Rather have that screw head doing some work.

Feeding off the back of that recept. is also something I don't care for. Just me.

Moving into the home place, I've spent several hours now, fixing what wiring the last man o the house tried to do. He sucked at ele work.

Overloaded circuits seem to be the rule on/in older homes, talking 50 or better, such as mine. sigh

Hope you get to the bottom of it. Sparks love trouble.

[QUOTE][Take your trusty meter to the breaker box and check all three legs on the incoming side, before the main breaker./QUOTE] Lost a line at the xformer.

63 year old wire finally gave out.
__________________
God, if you would grant me one request through Prayer, please help me be the Man my Dog thinks I am. Please.

Quoting "The Hunt". "A man will walk into hell with both eyes and arms wide open. His dog will know better."

I never thought I'd live long enough to become a grumpy old bastard. Here I am, killing it!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-07-2020, 03:38 PM
Zeke's Avatar
Zeke Zeke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Beach CA
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gimpyrobb View Post
A buddy who is an electrician came over and helped troubleshoot for about 6hrs. In the end, we ran a new wire to a junction box to tie in to the circuit. Everything is now working, its amazing how much crap is on that circuit! Might try to separate out some stuff to a new one at a later date.

Thanks for the suggestions gang.
That doesn't sound right to me. No individual wires are allowed to power a circuit unless they are in the same sheath of or conduit.

Even if you meant by "wire" that you ran a new 2 +ground cable to the box you have to consider that you may be back feeding something..

However, I will trust that all is well since you say your buddy is an electrician. I've been doing and studying electrical work for 10 years and I don't consider myself an electrician yet.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-07-2020, 10:44 PM
nelstomlinson nelstomlinson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Interior Alaska
Posts: 29
Default

When you start getting weird troubles, check your neutrals early.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.