Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Shop & Safety

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2020, 09:49 AM
trooper1954 trooper1954 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Kamloops, BC Canada
Posts: 31
Default Compressor question

Hi all,
Just have a quick question about a compressor attachment. I have only had experience with really small compressors and have recently acquired a used Campbell Hausfeld 5hp. In the photos included is an attachment that came with the compressor.....can I assume that it will connect to the same outlet as the older one in the photo?
Thanks.

PS. Tried to send this to the forum last night but for some reason it doesn't appear.....sorry if it's duplicated somewhere.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Existing outlet.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	176.7 KB
ID:	155780   Click image for larger version

Name:	New outlet.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	195.1 KB
ID:	155781  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2020, 10:57 AM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is online now
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 20,156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trooper1954 View Post
Hi all,
Just have a quick question about a compressor attachment. I have only had experience with really small compressors and have recently acquired a used Campbell Hausfeld 5hp. In the photos included is an attachment that came with the compressor.....can I assume that it will connect to the same outlet as the older one in the photo?
Thanks.

PS. Tried to send this to the forum last night but for some reason it doesn't appear.....sorry if it's duplicated somewhere.
I don't think outlet is the right term, outlet I think electrical. The original
equipment is a regulator, generally compressors will produce pressure higher
than most your needs so a regulator is able to reduce that pressure down to
your working pressure.

Now the new unit you have is an FRL; Filter Regulator Lubricator. They
should be put in that order (they are not in that order in your picture);
Filters also often will remove any condensed water as well.

I have a filter and regulator on my compressor but only lubricate at my point
of use. That is because the air I use is most for operations other than
pneumatic tools. Also I don't want all my air lines and hoses filled with oil.
So I will either lubricate my tools at the tool or in the case of my mill I have
the lubricator installed on my mill so only the lines that need it are lubricated.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2020, 12:00 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,047
Default

The first picture is a combination air filter and pressure regulator, you turn the black knob to set the working output pressure you need.

Second picture, search the net with the model numbers may come up with a manual.
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2020, 10:07 AM
trooper1954 trooper1954 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Kamloops, BC Canada
Posts: 31
Default Re: compressor question

Thanks guys,
Since discovered the previous owner was an autobody man, and that the attachment I asked about was bought for mostly spray painting and so has a regulator, water filter and particle filter.....no oiler.
Can I assume then that in this situation oil at the tool would be the way to go?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-27-2020, 10:48 AM
mccutter's Avatar
mccutter mccutter is offline
Post Fiend
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 9,001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trooper1954 View Post
Thanks guys,
Since discovered the previous owner was an autobody man, and that the attachment I asked about was bought for mostly spray painting and so has a regulator, water filter and particle filter.....no oiler.
Can I assume then that in this situation oil at the tool would be the way to go?
Thanks.
Yes, oil at tool. A few drops directly into the male fitting at the tool. The fitting will go into a female coupler on the hose. Run the tools a few times with a rag over the exhaust so you don't get oil vapor (vapour ) all over everything.

If you have issues with moisture in the air and need dry air to paint or plasma cut, consider investing in a "Motor Guard" type cartridge filter/water-separator.

It is not advisable to hang a hose on the outlet tube as shown in your picture. That is an unplanned excessive air release (explosion?) waiting to happen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mogua.JPG
Views:	23
Size:	14.3 KB
ID:	155790  
__________________

TA Arcmaster 185 w/tig/stick kit
MillerMatic 252 w/3rd gen 30A
MM140 w/o AS, w/CO2
Hobart (Miller) 625 plasma
Hobart 250ci plasma
Victor O/A (always ready, but bored)
Lincoln Patriot autodark (freebie)
45ACP Black Talons for those stubborn jobs...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-27-2020, 11:02 AM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is online now
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 20,156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trooper1954 View Post
Can I assume then that in this situation oil at the tool would be the way to go?
Thanks.
That is what I do, tools are only about 25% of my use. Plasma cutter and
filling tires make up the majority of my usage so dry lines are important.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-27-2020, 11:05 AM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is online now
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 20,156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccutter View Post
It is not advisable to hang a hose on the outlet tube as shown in your picture. That is an unplanned excessive air release (explosion?) waiting to happen.
+1 on that!
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-27-2020, 11:40 AM
trooper1954 trooper1954 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Kamloops, BC Canada
Posts: 31
Default

Thanks guys....my bad!!! Hose already removed!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.