Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Machining

SFT Search:   

Old 03-09-2019, 01:07 AM
Lubrication Consultant

Default Education Please On How to choose the correct Carbide Inserts

Looking to get educated here on how to choose the correct carbide inserts
I know it's not one type does all... and would like to know more, Being I have now made the plunge into replaceable "carbide insert" cutting tools for the lathe.

And I have no knowledge of the proper types of carbide cutters to use.
I mean I don't need to get too far off into all the exotics of carbide cutters, as I am needing to get my feet wet first in more a basic grade school entry level.

How do you determine which inserts are best used for the type of material
Aluminum, S.S., bronze/brass, tools steel, chrome molly, and other types of turntable material's, including turnable plastic.

I Have Only One Wish, To Achieve "Pura Vida" In All That I Do!
Old 03-09-2019, 07:32 AM
Boiler God

Inserts, vary in sizing, , styles, shapes and material composition, I use certain styles, based on what I’m cutting, material, shape being turned, whether it has grooves, slots or roundeded corners or sharp angles.

I use TNMG. CNMG, VNMG and WNMG inserts along, with What appears to be the home shop standard of CCMT. It depends on the job.

Some cut stainless steel great, but gnaw up aluminum, some cut aluminum to a mirror finish, but at about worthless on anything else. I have some that allow me to take a 1/4” DOC, but leave a rough surface to cleaned up with another pass, I have others that at best can do a .030” DOC, but the surface finish is great.