Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Machining

SFT Search:   

Old 03-02-2019, 10:14 AM

Default Project discussion - newbie with zero knowledge.

And that probably puts a target on my back. Please be gentle!

If this is the wrong place for this thread, please let me know and I'll move it, or ask for it to be moved, or delete it and start over in the proper location.

First, let me preface this by saying I have zero knowledge of metalworking. None. I have never even seen a machine shop, and I have no idea what all those tools and machines do. I don't know the proper terminology, or the right way to describe things. That is the very reason I came here.

I recently went to another machinist forum, and read a few posts to try to get an idea, only to see a thread where all these professional machinists utterly destroyed a newbie for asking a simple question. They did it in a hateful, hurtful, and rather sadistic manner, and appeared to openly enjoy it. I don't think that's the attitude here, after reading several threads. But please, remember that there was a time when you knew nothing, and be patient with me. Thanks!

I would like to learn how to adequately and properly describe two small metal pieces I would like to eventually have made. First and foremost, I'm not Warren Buffett, and would prefer not to sell my firstborn or mortgage my house to have this done. In other words, I'd like to eventually get it done for a fair price, on the cheap, as embarrassing as it is to say that.