Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Machining

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-19-2018, 12:25 AM
terry lingle's Avatar
terry lingle terry lingle is offline
Something's Fishy ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birch Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,257
Default

How many conductors in the 220 receptacle?
I have not been to your place since you got the mill so I am not sure were it is
in the main shop or in the sea can with the lathe. IIRC the power is in the sea can with the compressor in it so it would be more difficult to pull a 4 wire cct across to the second can.
What you have works from the power side but can cause a ground loop problem which is a whole nother can of worms.
__________________
Life beats the alternative hands down.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-19-2018, 02:42 PM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 13,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry lingle View Post
How many conductors in the 220 receptacle?
I have not been to your place since you got the mill so I am not sure were it is
in the main shop or in the sea can with the lathe. IIRC the power is in the sea can with the compressor in it so it would be more difficult to pull a 4 wire cct across to the second can.
What you have works from the power side but can cause a ground loop problem which is a whole nother can of worms.
3 conductors red, black,green. I know I could feed it your way by tapping one side to neutral, Inspector told me he frowns on that. I have done it on the hyd press, and his attitude is that anything that is plugged in, he will not worry about as long as the plug and breaker is to code. Anything plugged in is an appliance to him.
Mill is with the lathe. It has its own sub panel with #10 wire running to the main breaker panel to feed the mill and the lights.
Lathe is on another sub panel which also feeds the welders.
__________________
Gerry
You got freedom of speech, if you don't say too much.
Aaron Neville

"I must abide by my core values, my ethical responsibilities and constitutional obligations. There can be a cost to acting on one’s principles, but there is a bigger cost to abandoning them.” Jane Philpott

Last edited by Ironman; 11-19-2018 at 02:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-19-2018, 03:41 PM
terry lingle's Avatar
terry lingle terry lingle is offline
Something's Fishy ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birch Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,257
Default

I think we have a communications issue A sub panel is a load center that accepts breakers. it would be fed by a four conductor wire Red Black White and Green.
A dryer receptacle wired to such a panel provides all required voltages with only one ground wire.
A three wire 240 VAC receptacle such as a welding receptacle provides red,black and green for a 240 volt machine such as a welder it does not provide a proper way to get 120 VAC Because using the ground as a current carrying return is potentially lethal if you develop a groung fault problem.
using a separate 120 VAC circuit for the controls means that you have two ghreen wires from the common distribution point to the mill they make a shorted loop that can have very large currents flowing through it because it becomes effectively a shorted transformer secondary.
The primary is the current carrying conductors is any or all wires in the loop.
In theory the magnetic fields generated by the current carrying conductors cancel exactly In practice it is close but not perfect and that uncancelled magnetic field will induce a voltage into the ground loop which will be converted to heat in the ground wire.THe magnitude of the induced current is pretty unpredictable and usualy quite low but it can be large enough to get the smaller cross section portion hotter that the wires temperature rating.
This can happen at any time it is not dependent on the machine or the power feeds using power.
The simplest way to eliminate this possible problem is to disconnect the smaller ground wire that feeds the control section . Then confirm with an ohm meter that you still have a low resistance connection from the machine to the disconnected ground wire. this breaks the loop but still provides proper safety grounding to the machine.
If you do not have that low resistance when the second ground is disconnected you have a dangerous wiring issue that need to be corrected.
__________________
Life beats the alternative hands down.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-19-2018, 04:16 PM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 13,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry lingle View Post
I think we have a communications issue A sub panel is a load center that accepts breakers. it would be fed by a four conductor wire Red Black White and Green.
That is correct. And how I did it. I thought you were asking about the wiring from the plug to the VFD.
I could disconnect the ground and do as you suggested, but I forgot to mention there is another path to ground which I have no intention of changing. The whole machine sits on a 1/4" thick plate that is part of the sea can floor frame which is welded to the screw piles going into the ground. The screw piles are accepted by the electrical inspector as my ground for the electric panel.
__________________
Gerry
You got freedom of speech, if you don't say too much.
Aaron Neville

"I must abide by my core values, my ethical responsibilities and constitutional obligations. There can be a cost to acting on one’s principles, but there is a bigger cost to abandoning them.” Jane Philpott

Last edited by Ironman; 11-19-2018 at 04:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-19-2018, 04:47 PM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 13,390
Default

And while we're at it, I recently re-wired and upgraded the daughter and SIL's house panel to 125 amp from 60 amp and moved it to the basement.
It was a bit hairy as I had to do it live without pulling the meter. They did not want me to break the meter seal.
When I was done, they are all happy that the lights are brighter and the frig has quit making noise and runs quiet.
The voltage is where it is supposed to be, never checked it prior, and the wiring was quite "unusual" but nothing that should have caused the conditions that they say have improved.
So I wonder what I did that changed things.
__________________
Gerry
You got freedom of speech, if you don't say too much.
Aaron Neville

"I must abide by my core values, my ethical responsibilities and constitutional obligations. There can be a cost to acting on one’s principles, but there is a bigger cost to abandoning them.” Jane Philpott
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-19-2018, 08:55 PM
OldRedFord's Avatar
OldRedFord OldRedFord is offline
Kibble King
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hull GA
Posts: 3,546
Send a message via AIM to OldRedFord Send a message via Yahoo to OldRedFord
Default

As far as the drill press it's a 21" Cincinnati Bickford super service drill press. Later model with the square collum. Actually bought it from one of the metalworking YouTube guys down in south Georgia. Need to go pick it up.
__________________
Tim
Self appointed director of junk, and old vehicles.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-19-2018, 11:16 PM
milomilo's Avatar
milomilo milomilo is offline
Auction Addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wheatland, Wyoming
Posts: 14,626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldRedFord View Post
As far as the drill press it's a 21" Cincinnati Bickford super service drill press. Later model with the square collum. Actually bought it from one of the metalworking YouTube guys down in south Georgia. Need to go pick it up.
This may give you some info. Manual is available too.
__________________
Chris

You want a friend in Washington? Get a dog.
Harry S. Truman
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-20-2018, 09:44 AM
OldRedFord's Avatar
OldRedFord OldRedFord is offline
Kibble King
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hull GA
Posts: 3,546
Send a message via AIM to OldRedFord Send a message via Yahoo to OldRedFord
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milomilo View Post
This may give you some info. Manual is available too.

That would be the exact drill. I've followed Keiths channel for a few years. I had messaged him about a shaper I had seen on Craigslist and he offed me that drill.

I think it's way ahead of the older Cincinnati I have.
__________________
Tim
Self appointed director of junk, and old vehicles.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-20-2018, 03:31 PM
milomilo's Avatar
milomilo milomilo is offline
Auction Addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wheatland, Wyoming
Posts: 14,626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldRedFord View Post
That would be the exact drill. I've followed Keiths channel for a few years. I had messaged him about a shaper I had seen on Craigslist and he offed me that drill.

I think it's way ahead of the older Cincinnati I have.
I would love to find one like that around here.
__________________
Chris

You want a friend in Washington? Get a dog.
Harry S. Truman
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-15-2018, 06:30 PM
OldRedFord's Avatar
OldRedFord OldRedFord is offline
Kibble King
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hull GA
Posts: 3,546
Send a message via AIM to OldRedFord Send a message via Yahoo to OldRedFord
Default

Went and picked up the drill from Keith Rucker today. Got to check out his shop. I like the Carlton radial drill he has that replaced this one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20181215_155206786_HDR.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	206.8 KB
ID:	148478   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20181215_154647277.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	192.3 KB
ID:	148479  
__________________
Tim
Self appointed director of junk, and old vehicles.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.