Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Fabrication

SFT Search:   

Old 03-12-2019, 10:13 PM

Default Advice on latest project

Ok guys I am just learning about welding and buying my equipment to get me started on the basics.But I have some problems to get started so I want to build my dad a steel grill and have it ready for him on his 60th birthday it’s a preety big event and I have a lot of pressure to get this done even if it requires assistance.When it comes down to it I found the material has to be 16g galvanized tubular steel.The whole frame is going to be 7ft length not sure on width.I have pictures of this frame and it’s exactly what I want to build.What do you guys think.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	90BEF40F-2116-485A-8F3A-A8DD852BD0C7.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	122.8 KB
ID:	149906   Click image for larger version

Name:	9FF528A6-316E-4CD2-92D6-5D92FF325325.jpeg
Views:	98
Size:	194.7 KB
ID:	149907   Click image for larger version

Name:	F4179365-B4CC-473A-90A8-B84A46378FAA.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	91.2 KB
ID:	149908   Click image for larger version

Name:	C859E536-01EF-4199-ABF7-3082AC84631A.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	93.7 KB
ID:	149909   Click image for larger version

Name:	ECEA4C2C-72B0-40D9-BC09-2FE0F6817A3B.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	108.8 KB
ID:	149910  

Old 03-12-2019, 10:48 PM
Auction Addict

Have you welded on galvanized steel before?

Liberty has never come from Government. Liberty has always come from the subjects of it. The history of liberty is a history of limitations of governmental power, not the increase of it.
Woodrow Wilson
Old 03-12-2019, 10:52 PM
Curmudgeon

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontiersteeltx View Post
When it comes down to it I found the material has to be 16g galvanized tubular steel.
I think you might want to re-think your material choice or at least be sure you're set up to protect yourself from the fumes.

Read this thread: Galvanize