Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-18-2009, 02:53 PM
3C welding 3C welding is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: fort worth, texas
Posts: 17
Default

When I bought my miller cp 300 I went through the same thing, The power company was going to charge me 5,000 a mile to get to my shop at home. It was going to take 8 miles to get it there. WOW I only bought the machine for 700. Anyway there are a ton of companies out there now who build phase converters. I found out that is a dangerous combination of words when mixed with a welder. But some of these guys know what they are doing and can set you up with a package that works. I had to get a 7hp package to cover the amp rating on the machine. For me it works well but I don't use the machince to its full capacity either. It seems odd but I also learned that if you have availibal 3 phase power, its draw is about half compared to 220.
__________________
lincoln 250 wire matic
millermatic 135 xp
miller Roughneck 2e and 1e
Miller CP 300 w/ 22a feeder
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-18-2009, 03:33 PM
Harvuskong's Avatar
Harvuskong Harvuskong is offline
The Enforcer
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Big Country Area, TX - Abilene TX area
Posts: 3,737
Default

It would be interesting to find out the price of a 480V 3PH generator capable of powering one of those welders.

Should be way less than $40K. And able to power the house when the power goes down during storms.
__________________
Running away is the coward's way out of war.
Appeasement is the coward's way into one.


Barack Hussein Obama is our enemies favorite candidate


In time the right project will find the scrap pile, no need for the scrap pile to go out looking for a project.

http://www.swiftvets.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=24981

http://tosettherecordstraight.com/index.php
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-18-2009, 04:17 PM
cutter's Avatar
cutter cutter is offline
Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lubbock,Texas
Posts: 32,998
Default

Quote:
And able to power the house when the power goes down during storms.
umm, say what?
__________________
cutter
Housekeeping Staff: the Gatekeeper
Director of Policy, Syntax and Grammar (by appointment)

"Dr. Chandran, will I dream?"

Just Keep Walking

"I am not a body, I am free.
For I am still as God created me."
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-18-2009, 04:23 PM
cutter's Avatar
cutter cutter is offline
Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lubbock,Texas
Posts: 32,998
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3C welding View Post
I had to get a 7hp package to cover the amp rating on the machine. For me it works well but I don't use the machince to its full capacity either.
I'd like to hear more about that, 3C and I don't mean that I'd like to argue about it.
I've read several reasonable sounding statements about why converters theoretically won't allow a welder to run properly.
If that's not true I'd like to know it.
__________________
cutter
Housekeeping Staff: the Gatekeeper
Director of Policy, Syntax and Grammar (by appointment)

"Dr. Chandran, will I dream?"

Just Keep Walking

"I am not a body, I am free.
For I am still as God created me."
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-20-2009, 10:57 AM
lars66's Avatar
lars66 lars66 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: St. Paul Park, MN
Posts: 661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cutter View Post
I'd like to hear more about that, 3C and I don't mean that I'd like to argue about it.
I've read several reasonable sounding statements about why converters theoretically won't allow a welder to run properly.
If that's not true I'd like to know it.
I have a friend that has been running a 250 Airco CV off a RPC for going on 30 years now. I myself have run a Lincoln R3S off a RPC just to try out the RPC for another friend that had just bought it. As far as the welder running properly the Lincoln was the ruffest running wire welder I had, with the RPC hooked to it the machine smoothed out and welded decent enough that I considerd putting one on it full time to eliminate the employees squabling over who HAD to use it. The only reason the Lincoln was plugged in to the RPC was it was sitting next to the 220 single phase plug where I plugged in the RPC.

Last edited by lars66; 09-20-2009 at 11:35 AM. Reason: add more
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-20-2009, 11:12 AM
tnmike's Avatar
tnmike tnmike is offline
Sultan of Scrounge
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NE TN
Posts: 3,922
Default

I have used on of those welders at the local community college. It would be well worth having IF you had three phase service. They have it powered by a 480 volt three phase panel. Im sure the duty cycle is correct. I would like to know what it weighs.

I just sold a Hobart Brothers 240 VAC single phase 200 amp AC welder and it was a beast. I just didnt need it and my buddy did. Ive got an old Westinghouse welder on steel wheels I bought at a tractor show for 20 bucks. It took three men to load it. The transformer in it is huge. You just cant beat those old one. They never die.
__________________
Buy it cheap and stack it deep
Klaatu barada nikto
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-20-2009, 09:08 PM
migwelder05's Avatar
migwelder05 migwelder05 is offline
7.5 Fingers
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lancaster county , PA (Dutch country)
Posts: 2,596
Send a message via AIM to migwelder05
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD MAN View Post
Also it will run on 220 also.
Sooo.....Dont you have 220 in your shop? cant you just run it on that?
__________________
Dylan

"There are three kinds of men: The ones that learn by reading. The few who learn by observation. The rest of them have to pee on the electric fence."
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-20-2009, 09:59 PM
Harvuskong's Avatar
Harvuskong Harvuskong is offline
The Enforcer
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Big Country Area, TX - Abilene TX area
Posts: 3,737
Default

Yes, he could run it on 220V if he could get the 220V 3PH to his shop.

It has to be 3 Phase power.

It can be 440V or 220V, but it has to be 3 Phase power to run it without having to mess with a RPC.
__________________
Running away is the coward's way out of war.
Appeasement is the coward's way into one.


Barack Hussein Obama is our enemies favorite candidate


In time the right project will find the scrap pile, no need for the scrap pile to go out looking for a project.

http://www.swiftvets.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=24981

http://tosettherecordstraight.com/index.php
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-21-2009, 10:15 AM
digger doug's Avatar
digger doug digger doug is offline
Not to be used as a Flotation Device
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Pa
Posts: 11,863
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD MAN View Post
It is 3 phase. 300amp, 100% duty cycle and too big for my shop.
Sitting in the floor cross legged like, chanting.....


"OOOHHMMM, OOOHHHMM, SSSSPRAY, SSSPRAY, SSPRAY

OOOHHHMMM, SPRAY IS GOOOOD, SPRAY IS GOOOD "

This machine will spray. This machine in spray will melt 1/2" thick
plate onto the floor. Pull trigger and MOVE, NOW.

This machine will also catch your liteweight gloves on fire, don't ask.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-21-2009, 12:49 PM
3C welding 3C welding is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: fort worth, texas
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cutter View Post
I'd like to hear more about that, 3C and I don't mean that I'd like to argue about it.
I've read several reasonable sounding statements about why converters theoretically won't allow a welder to run properly.
If that's not true I'd like to know it.
I would have to go back to all of my notes on this to give you names and .com addresses. But they are pretty easy to find if you just google RPC. The company I dealt with is in longview Tx. and he was very helpful. What they do is ask for all of your machine stats and they get a motor just above the ratings you need an build a capacitory bank and timer to take the loads and different intervals, I THINK thats how he discribed it to me. What I found out is that most people just get a motor that is probably not big enough because its cheap and put one togather their selves and it doesn't work to well. If you have some money to spend and do it right and get the benifit of using a 3Phase welder there is a company in Cali i think that builds digital RPC designed around welders, it will automatic adjust to the welders need while in use.
__________________
lincoln 250 wire matic
millermatic 135 xp
miller Roughneck 2e and 1e
Miller CP 300 w/ 22a feeder
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.