Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Fabrication

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2013, 10:54 PM
Acra22120 Acra22120 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Breaux Bridge LA
Posts: 67
Default Lincoln power mig 215

I am trying to find out what the A, B, C, D, E, F, mean in relation to how much voltage is being put out at the gun. I recently purchased a spool gun to weld aluminum and it gives me the voltage needed to weld different thickness plate, but not sure how to convert it to the lettering.

Sent from my iPhone using SFT
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1017123028.jpg
Views:	571
Size:	92.2 KB
ID:	100527   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4215756704.jpg
Views:	237
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	100528  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2013, 01:37 AM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,898
Default

Without a good Load you are not going to get a very good reading

Notice the writing on the welder "35 OCV" 35 Open circuit volts.(no load).

Remove the mig-wire and set a voltmeter in the range of 50 volts DC, pull the trigger and take a reading.
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2013, 11:51 PM
Gadgeteer's Avatar
Gadgeteer Gadgeteer is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southern Montana
Posts: 1,827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GWIZ View Post
Without a good Load you are not going to get a very good reading

Notice the writing on the welder "35 OCV" 35 Open circuit volts.(no load).

Remove the mig-wire and set a voltmeter in the range of 50 volts DC, pull the trigger and take a reading.
I fail to see how removing the mig wire, then measuring voltage will result in a reading under load. I may be wrong... but, it seems to me that one would have to measure voltage while welding in order to get the desired "voltage under load."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2013, 11:57 PM
Gadgeteer's Avatar
Gadgeteer Gadgeteer is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southern Montana
Posts: 1,827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Acra22120 View Post
I am trying to find out what the A, B, C, D, E, F, mean in relation to how much voltage is being put out at the gun. I recently purchased a spool gun to weld aluminum and it gives me the voltage needed to weld different thickness plate, but not sure how to convert it to the lettering.

Sent from my iPhone using SFT
Rather than trying to find the VOLTS OUT at each letter setting, I suggest you just practice on scrap pieces at various settings, keeping notes along the way. It shouldn't take you very long to determine the setting(s) that is/are just right (dialed in) for any given requirement.

Current (amps) is more important than voltage, anyway, since voltage will vary with arc length. Just do some welding and get it on.

Last edited by Gadgeteer; 01-16-2013 at 12:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2013, 12:10 AM
Paychk's Avatar
Paychk Paychk is offline
Project Phoenix
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Junction City, OR
Posts: 2,254
Default

Does Lincoln have the manual for your machine you can download? it would be listed there.
__________________
Ory-gun Boy!

Millermatic 200 w/ SKP-35 Spot Pulse Weld Panel, Tweco MIG-GUN #2, running ER70S-6 .035 wire on CO2, Spoolmatic 1 Spool Gun
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-16-2013, 12:46 AM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadgeteer View Post
I fail to see how removing the mig wire, then measuring voltage will result in a reading under load.



I may be wrong... but, it seems to me that one would have to measure voltage while welding in order to get the desired "voltage under load."
It will not be under load, he may get an idea of the voltage increment for each step.


For a load he needs something like a high wattage resistor.


Most people have an expensive Fluke meter, and I don't know if all that arcing and sparking will damage the meter.
Arcing and sparking may set up a high frequency that the meter may not be designed to handle.

Now if you have one of those free HF meters then it maybe worth the gamble.
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-16-2013, 07:45 AM
Acra22120 Acra22120 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Breaux Bridge LA
Posts: 67
Default

Unfortunately the manual doesn't list any actual numbers for the settings. It only tells you the letter you need and wire speed for steel welding, which is pretty accurate. The problem is I need the settings for .125 aluminum plate.

Sent from my iPhone using SFT
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-16-2013, 08:06 AM
Vern2's Avatar
Vern2 Vern2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 670
Smile

Acra,

Here is some on 215, info.

Video help, meg welding Aluminum, here.

First time problems, welding Aluminum, here.

Took me a long time to get it done.
__________________
Vern
http://www.enichesoftware.com

Last edited by Vern2; 01-16-2013 at 08:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.