Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Shop & Safety

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-09-2013, 11:43 PM
Paychk's Avatar
Paychk Paychk is offline
Project Phoenix
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Junction City, OR
Posts: 2,254
Default

The reason it cost so much is at every utility drop three transformers instead of one are required, now if you could convince your whole street to go 3 phase the costs might drop.
__________________
Ory-gun Boy!

Millermatic 200 w/ SKP-35 Spot Pulse Weld Panel, Tweco MIG-GUN #2, running ER70S-6 .035 wire on CO2, Spoolmatic 1 Spool Gun
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-10-2013, 09:04 AM
Norcal Norcal is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paychk View Post
The reason it cost so much is at every utility drop three transformers instead of one are required, now if you could convince your whole street to go 3 phase the costs might drop.
If the supply is 120/240V 3Ø only 2, X-formers are required, PG&E loves 120/240V 3Ø delta for AG services.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-10-2013, 12:08 PM
OutlawRider OutlawRider is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NE AR
Posts: 38
Default

I had 3 phase dropped in. But I also have grain bins behind my shop that had it already. Didn't cost me a penny extra to have it installed. Not sure if the rates are any different than single phase would have been though.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-10-2013, 09:19 PM
cramd's Avatar
cramd cramd is offline
Drivin' Fool
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yorkton, Saskatchewan,Canada
Posts: 4,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paychk View Post
The reason it cost so much is at every utility drop three transformers instead of one are required, now if you could convince your whole street to go 3 phase the costs might drop.
There is no possibility of getting three phase to any residential areas here. All new residential power supply is underground, and the supply to that comes via a drop from three phase lines running around the outskirts of the sub divisions.
The older residential areas with above ground power are also supplied the same way; three phase power is usually found only in commercial/industrial areas, or cross country transmission lines.
Rural power is also single phase, unless some larger farm is near enough to a three phase transmission line, and the owner can show a need for it, and will pay the bill for the installation of three phase to his yard.
__________________
Miller Thunderbolt XL AC/DC
Hobart Handler 190
Angle grinders,14" chop saw,Hobart medium duty O/A set
Some air tools,fair selection of hand tools,and other "stuff"
____________________________________________

The difference between genius and stupidity, is that genius has limits. Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-10-2013, 09:50 PM
SmokinDodge's Avatar
SmokinDodge SmokinDodge is offline
Post Fiend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 5,869
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcal View Post
If the supply is 120/240V 3Ø only 2, X-formers are required, PG&E loves 120/240V 3Ø delta for AG services.
I would love to know what that means when it's translated to English.
__________________
The guy that said money can't buy happiness never bought a tank of fuel for a turbo diesel.............
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-10-2013, 10:37 PM
atwatterkent atwatterkent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kankakee, IL
Posts: 176
Default

OK, I give up. It's just not cost effective, FOR THEM.
They're not in business to make the customer happy, they're in business to make money. Pretty selfish I'd say.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-10-2013, 11:08 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 19,612
Default

When I was running power to my shop I did ask the question, the engineer
said he could work up an estimate, I told not to waste the time, but what
would a WAG be. He asked how far I was from 4000N Road (nearest 3 phase
lines) I told him 1-1/4 miles. He told me between $3-400,000, this was 1996.

Every thing between my house and the service would have to be rerun in 3
phase all the existing service moved and the remaining old shorter poles
removed, etc, etc, etc.

Or he could run primary single on my property and set up a trans next to the
shop for 1200A for under $10,000 and the RTC was my problem to sort out.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-10-2013, 11:47 PM
Paychk's Avatar
Paychk Paychk is offline
Project Phoenix
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Junction City, OR
Posts: 2,254
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcal View Post
If the supply is 120/240V 3Ø only 2, X-formers are required, PG&E loves 120/240V 3Ø delta for AG services.
Right on the mark, so it is just twice as expensive.
__________________
Ory-gun Boy!

Millermatic 200 w/ SKP-35 Spot Pulse Weld Panel, Tweco MIG-GUN #2, running ER70S-6 .035 wire on CO2, Spoolmatic 1 Spool Gun
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-11-2013, 04:53 AM
Norcal Norcal is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokinDodge View Post
I would love to know what that means when it's translated to English.
Some PoCo's are not allowing 120/240 volts 3Ø anymore to new customers, but where they do it's a cheap way for 3 phase power as only 2 pole pigs are required, it is real EZ to tell when it's a overhead feed & 120/240V 3Ø, there is one large transformer & a smaller one. Just a FYI, 120/240V 3Ø has 2 phases that read 120V line to neutral, & 1 that will read 208V*, any phase to phase reading will be 240V. Where 120/240V 3Ø is not being supplied to new customers the supply then is 208/120 volts, which is refered to by some ignorant people as 110/208.

*This leg has a lot of nics, high leg, power leg, bastard leg, red leg, but to mark the high leg red is a code violation as it's required to be marked w/ a orange color marking, & is also required to be the "B" phase in a panel, but the meter can has to have it in the "C" phase for metering purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-11-2013, 08:11 AM
rustythe4x4's Avatar
rustythe4x4 rustythe4x4 is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,547
Default

I am almost 10 miles from the nearest 3 phase line. Easiest way for me to get 3ph is buy a generator, or an RPC.

Like Cramd, we also only have one leg dropped to service an area, but the neighborhood is a little larger!
__________________
Living the country life


Learning boils down to "Repetition or the avoidance of pain", some people learn by doing, some by watching and some have to pee on the electric fence. - Norm W.

Mathew 10:36
And a man's foes shall be they of his own household
-Ironman quoting the Bible
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.