Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-09-2008, 05:41 PM
dubby's Avatar
dubby dubby is offline
Twice the size--half the man
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 9,598
Default

The manufacturer's phone number is visible on the label. Call 'em. Seems with the model and serial number they should be able to answer your questions.
__________________
I've always had more time than money.

Wade's Custom Kydex
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-09-2008, 07:03 PM
Shade guy Shade guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: arizona
Posts: 205
Default

Try this forum I think they are in England.


http://www.mig-welding.co.uk/forum/index.php
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-09-2008, 09:24 PM
MAC702's Avatar
MAC702 MAC702 is offline
set phasers to .50 caliber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Clark County, NV
Posts: 4,314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GWIZ View Post
...I'm wondering if that's three phase INPUT and single phase OUTPUT.
Except since the output should be DC, that won't be 50/60 Hz like the label says there.
__________________
"It's not important how many people I've killed. What's important is how I get along with the people who are still alive." - Jimmy the Tulip
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-12-2008, 12:11 PM
OTTO1976
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I wish I could call....but I dont speak Danish....any other ideas guys?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-12-2008, 12:13 PM
moe1942's Avatar
moe1942 moe1942 is offline
Voice of Experience
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Alexandria, Louisiana
Posts: 11,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OTTO1976 View Post
I wish I could call....but I dont speak Danish....any other ideas guys?

But I'll bet they speak the queens english.
__________________
Don't pick a fight with an old man. If he is too old to fight, he'll just kill you... John Steinbeck

"If we ever forget that we're one nation under God, then we will
be a nation gone under". ~Ronald Reagan

We should have picked our own cotton...

I love my women hot and my beer ice cold..
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-12-2008, 12:47 PM
OTTO1976
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default UK division...

I actually have email contact with the UK branch...I sent them the pictures and they are just as dumbfounded as I am....One of the emails talked about something called 2 phase? No idea what that meant...Regardless, it dosent say 2, it dosent say 3. That name plate distinctly has a 1~50/60hz input power....I just dont get it.....Has anyone ever expeirenced this before? I have requested some pics from the inside to take a look...Is an inverter's transformer as distinct as a reguler 3 phase trans? Well see....The saga continues.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-12-2008, 04:17 PM
OldNavy's Avatar
OldNavy OldNavy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bremerton, WA, USA
Posts: 305
Default

A three phase transformer input should have 3 input power taps and a ground tap. There are two transformer configurations for 3 phase. Delta and Y wound.
__________________
MM251, Synchrowave-200, Victor O/A, Powermax 45, Grizzley mill-drill, Evolution Raptor.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-12-2008, 04:27 PM
RancherBill's Avatar
RancherBill RancherBill is offline
there has to be an answer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DeWinton, Alberta
Posts: 5,434
Default

I think I found the schematic As I read it, on page 1 2/3 of the way down they are showing 3 phase. Maybe they just used a single phase board on your PS.

More manuals are here.

Have you looked at the Power Supply? You could check it against the parts list to see if it's standard.
__________________
Warning Disclaimer What am I doing?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-12-2008, 05:56 PM
JohnBoy's Avatar
JohnBoy JohnBoy is offline
Director of Languages
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southern Ireland
Posts: 2,616
Default

looks like it can be wired for single or dual phase to me, quite common on arc welders in europe, I dont know enough about bigger migs to know if it's common on them too.

if the lead has three cores, red, black and green or brown, blue and green-yellow then its gonna be single phase.

the plug should have three pins and be blue if its single phase and red if it's three phase
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-13-2008, 08:05 AM
Mith Mith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southern England
Posts: 143
Default

I'd reckon it was 3 phase from the physical size of the machine.

Easiest way to tell is going to be to look at the input plug on it.

Looks like its a 300A welder? If so, you'd never get that output from a single phase welder.
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.