Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2013, 02:02 PM
joeyboots1212 joeyboots1212 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 28
Default voltage/eastwood tig

ii have an eastwood tig 200 as well as a plasma cutter. they are rated as 110(with adapter) or 220. havent used the welder yet on 110 but i did use the cutter and would seem the 110 wasnt cutting it. my experience is limited but it didnt seem to work very well and i wonder if its the 110? i will say i did it in a hurry and the scrap metal i tried wasnt well prepped. i quickly took a grinder to it but it still had some paint on it and probably didnt have good contact. either way the arc kept kinda dying out and just didnt work well. i tried adjusting the amps and air but just never really cut cleanly. also, the lights in my garage all but went out when i would press the trigger. never tripped the breaker but definitely was drawing alot on the circuit as the lights pretty much completely dimmed everytime.

now could this be due to the 110 vs 220? both the lights as well as the poor performance, or is the performance more of a reflection of the poorly prepped metal?

i plan on trying the welder on the 110 this weekend and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2013, 02:19 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,882
Default

Dimming lights that much is bad, find a better source of power.

Assuming it is an inverter type machine, You do that enough times you may damage the welder/item.
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2013, 02:26 PM
joeyboots1212 joeyboots1212 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 28
Default

The company says the unit can be used on a 110/15 or a 220/30. I have a 15 amp breaker on the 110 circuit but obviously that didnt work too well. I do have a 220 I can use but its going to require me to get an extension is all. Do you think the 30amp breakers on it are going to suffice and the fact that its going to be 220 make all the difference?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2013, 02:37 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,882
Default

Try 220, read the specs on the welder for an idea of the breaker size.


If the extension cord size is too small the welder still may not get enough power.
Dimming light is you first problem, size of wire and length is related.

I have to run my 115 volt MIG welder on no less then a 12 gauge extension cord.
That is an old non-inverter machine.
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2013, 02:44 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,882
Default

115/230 machine.

At 115 volts most welders will have to cut the output power of the machine, so at 220 it is likely that it will have its output about double.
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2013, 02:46 PM
joeyboots1212 joeyboots1212 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 28
Default

Welder specs say 220vac/30amp circuit. The extension cord is rated at 250v/50 amp.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2013, 02:59 PM
cutter's Avatar
cutter cutter is offline
Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lubbock,Texas
Posts: 32,961
Default

The welder will probably do fine on 220 volts.
It will never weld or cut worth a damn on 120v @ 15 amps and neither will most welders or plasma cutters. 15 amps will run a decent blow dryer or a toaster but that's about where it peaks out.

Don't forget to change the input selector on the machine.
__________________
cutter
Housekeeping Staff: the Gatekeeper
Director of Policy, Syntax and Grammar (by appointment)

"Dr. Chandran, will I dream?"

Just Keep Walking

"Passionate hatred can give meaning and purpose to an empty life. Thus people haunted by the purposelessness of their lives try to find a new content not only by dedicating themselves to a holy cause but also by nursing a fanatical grievance. A mass movement offers them unlimited opportunities for both."
Eric Hoffer The True Believer 1951
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2013, 03:00 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,882
Default

That should work, I assume the wiring is properly sized of the 30 amp breaker.

If/As for home made extension cords you have to be a little cautious, the plugs/receptacle have a rating then the wire also has its rating.
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-09-2013, 03:14 PM
joeyboots1212 joeyboots1212 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 28
Default

was thinking of doing this:

http://collierwelding.com/tech/weldercord/index.html
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-09-2013, 03:18 PM
joeyboots1212 joeyboots1212 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 28
Default

what size wire would be recommended?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.